You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT: STEEM: Game Development: Opening doors... discussion

in #steemit7 years ago

It would certainly be enhancing to have a repertoire of games. Sadly, there seems to be little interest in designing quality and original adventure games. I have many ideas, but since I do not program, I find myself a pariah.

Sort:  

My wife loves point and click adventure games, and puzzles. I've played them before but I tend to aim for replayable games when I make them and that isn't a genre I tend to aim for.

If you get Unity and decide you want to pursue it then I definitely can recommend some assets that will give you a headstart on such endeavors.

https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/11896

https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/66215

That second one has a lot of adventure elements but it is definitely tilted towards a particular type.

Since you are not a programmer you would also likely want:
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/368

Though I can say that if you pursue it on your own you'll end up learning some programming it is difficult to avoid completely, but with adventure creator it should greatly limit how much you need to do.

The art assets for your game can be free from that asset store, or purchased. For realistic humans and humanoid characters check out my #daz3d posts.

Thanks; I've had Unity for a couple of years just to play certain games. I'll have to be all over this. My concept is multiple path adventures. You are a reservoir of resources. Be well, we will be taking more; maybe on chat, if that's fine with you.

I don't tend to hang out in chats. I can get distracted so easily there and realize I didn't get a ton of things done. I prefer to chat via replies, but I am available that way if you like.

That's excellent that you equally value your time and guard it.

I should rephrase that. I tend to make games that have replayable value for ME the developer, designer, etc. Adventure games and story games I do think are very cool. The problem is I learned at a very early age they were not for me to make, because I already knew the entire story and had to test it out multiple times. So I would make games other people liked, but they would not be fun for me to play as well due to me already knowing everything about them.

So I use a lot of procedural and random elements in most things I make. That way I don't even know completely what they are going to do. :)

I then can play them and have fun myself even though I made them.

I think Adventure Game Studio is the best to create a classical adventure games... but yeah, unity is the best if you're already a unity user.. or if you want to create something in 3D.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63