Dear Steemians - I upvote comments!

in #steemit6 years ago

join us on steemit.jpg
Hey everybody! It's only been a couple months since I've gotten truly engaged with Steemit and I'm really starting to appreciate the community here. I can't say that about any other social media platform. YouTube used to refer to the "YouTube community" a lot, but it's completely hollow compared to the community here at Steemit. I don't know how long we will have this sense of being a community, because I have a feeling this place is about to blow up! But right now, the people on this platform have a unique conscientiousness and are drawn to a platform that is blockchain-based and free of censorship. The basic features of this platform have drawn a great crowd.
c0075fd21a2f2b1f95dfcd91324d67c8.jpg
So I've embraced four practices to be more engaged and support this community that I want to share with you.

  1. Plugging Steemit! When I was on stage at Anarchapulco last week with Cynthia McKinney, I plugged Steemit from the stage. Last night, I did an interview and convinced the interviewer to start posting all of his content on Steemit - as part of him interviewing me! (I turned the interview on him briefly at the end to ask if he was on Steemit and then made a plug.) Whenever I meet someone who is a content creator, I show them my numbers here and ask, "Are you making this kind of money with your content? I'm still doing almost a million views a month on YouTube and I make more money from a single post here than in a whole month on YouTube." I am now fully engaged with Steemit as my primary social media presence and so it is INGRAINED in my messaging because I so believe in the cause of information freedom, realizing the potential of the internet, and advancing the human conversation.

  2. Directing traffic! I just recorded two new outros for all of my videos that go up on YouTube and Facebook. They basically say, "Screw this old government-sponsored, sell-your-attention for advertisers, centrally-controlled, censorship-burdened, poisoned-conversation platform and get on Steemit!" My entire social media strategy is focused on Steemit now and everything I do on other platforms is designed to direct traffic here. For those of you with a strong presence on other platforms, be patient and be persistent. It takes a long time for people to make the switch and you need to keep a strong presence everywhere that you can until everyone is on Steemit, but trust me, it's worth it.

  3. RSing! As I said from the stage in Anarchapulco and as I've told every content creator in person, I want to help people who are new here get a leg up so they're not starting from scratch, especially with the delay in account creation when bringing their audiences on from other platforms. I'm still getting my own production fully up to speed, but when it is, I should be making about six posts a day here. For every two posts I make, I want to ReSteem someone else's post. So I have 21 slots/week available to help others. As I've told so many people in person now, any time you have a post that you think my audience would enjoy, please just email it to [email protected] and I'll RS it! Simple as that.

(As a side note, we need to be wary of those in the community who are not collaborative and always about "me." When you help someone who does not play well with others and doesn't lift up or promote other content creators, you're just helping them. But when you help someone who is always helping others, you're helping everyone they're helping and helping the community! There are plenty of snakes and crab people and infiltrators in our movement and one indicator of a bad actor is that they not only do not help others, but actively pull people down for no reason, like crabs in a bucket.)

  1. Upvoting comments! My upvote isn't worth a lot, but rather than bicker with people on Facebook or trying to outsnark each other on Twitter, I read the comments on almost all my posts here. And I upvote a lot! If you're new and trying to get into the community, take the time to be engaged. Upvote posts and comments! Comment on my posts and earn a few bucks here and there. I also include a note at the bottom of most of my posts to encourage engagement and give back to the community: "Whoever has the top comment on this post after 24 hours can claim a free signed copy of FREEDOM! by sending me an email at [email protected] with their address."

This is the new frontier of social media. As much as I have been (very deservedly) critical of the old social media platforms for their corruption, censorship, corporatism, sharing data with governments and cowing to their demands, I have always been a big proponent of what they represent in decentralizing the power of the human conversation. While in a sense, this human progress happens organically, it doesn't happen automatically. It happens with a lot of consistent, deliberate effort. It happens with love and compassion and community and words fail to express how much happier I am to be engaged here instead the old social media sites!

Sort:  
Loading...

FINALLY!!! I got approved today and wanted to say thanks for bringing me into steemit!

Good, the first rule of Steemit.com is: you do talk about steemit.com

♦i just upvote, comment & resteem♦..........keep it up............

upvote and resteem done

I've been on Steemit for several months now and have tried to post quality content on my blog, including original artwork. I still don't have much of a following or get many upvotes. My focus now is to reach out to other Steemians like yourself by commenting and up voting. In your words I need to make a more consistent and deliberate effort to get engaged on Steemit. Thank you for your advice.

Bra, I totally get your feeling. I find it most challenging to engage a lot because we don’t yet have the easy filtering that FunkBook has, but this interface has come leaps and bounds. Adam really leads the charge in showing not the right way forward, but the best way forward. It’s not often I see someone exemplifying such stellar leadership. I feel like he’s turning into a major thought leader on here and I want to continue seeing him and his work flourish.

Can this be the Kokesh 2020 HQ? Is that functionality of a landing page/profile in the future for steemit? Will it play a song? Haha, not sure who is old enough for that reference.

HA! Thanks, brother. In a way, it already is!

What is your strategy for 2020? Are you starting to gear up now? I'd like to help you out at a sustainable rate.

Josh: I'm working on a method of spreading Adam's "Freedom!" book around in a systematic way to help him attain enough of a following to assure he will be on that debate stage in 2020. It takes a national polling of 15%. So Steemit's very existence can assure we can PROVE he has the numbers when the Rigged Polls of the MSM say otherwise. Can you donate 10 minutes a day, 6 days a week to spread this around? We need enough Americans to come around to the "Self Ownership" platform.
Have you read, or heard it yet?

BOOM! Done son! You got me on board. That is a totally sustainable amount of time and work. Thanks for taking the lead.

pleasure. So, the "Boom; done son" means you have already read or listened to his book? Please email me your appraisal of Adam's work. It can be a one sentence endorsement or rip, all the way to a college thesis on the book. [email protected] It will be for Adam's benefit, the campaign staff (especially the state coordinators) and the people you bring to read/listen to the book... which is where your 10 minute investment comes in. Look forward to dialogue with you. Do you skype?

By the way, "dad"... I'm 62. LOL

Send me an email once a week with your best post and I'll RS!

Hell yeah! I'll get a really good post together, and once it's up I'll send you the link. Thanks!

Thank you for encouraging engagement in the Steem community. I would be very appreciative if you re-steemed my post once a week. Only do it if you want to promote what I am advocating in any given article I send you. I believe in endorsing articles that promotes positivity for the Earth and humanity, as I know you do as well. You re-steeming my best weekly post will probably help me immensely. I only really starting posting this month. Blessings brother.

sometimes feels like talking to the breeze
like the old smothers brothers
I talk to the birds
but they do not listen to me
I talk to the trees
but they don't hear me

but we gotta keep plugging away
Most are in social media to talk
or try to make money
not enough listen...
anyway: hang in there...ya got empathy from this quarter
:-)

loved that album!! Why dont we have comedians like that (and Tom Paxon) spreading our message?

Great to hear, Adam. We can see from the Molyneux experiment that simply throwing posts up without engaging with the reader is going nowhere, fast.
(Also being a voluntaryist would help him a lot).
Good to see @careywedler and @larkenrose really engaging here too.

Also, not being a white supremacist self-help cultist would help him a lot.

yaah steemit is platform where you can earn more then another network same here I leaving facebook for steemit and trully engaged with steemit!
thank you adamkokesh engaging with communities i see pics of you with ash!

Great post, I thought it was very interesting, thank you for sharing it with us, you've been winning my upvote!

I pray that Steemit will continue on the basis of communities. The community have been very helpful, to some of us it is family. I can't remember the last tome i spent on other social media platforms. I just hope that the delay in account creation will be improved, so that it won't be difficult to direct newbies to sign up.

That's definitely a critical improvement that will be very helpful. And of course there will be many more!

Yes! My wife has been waiting 9 days for her account, and still nothing..... she checks her email once an hour, eagerly! She has a lot of content to post, some of it time-sensitive, and it's frustrating to be delayed so long. Every day on here, things change, and opportunities come and go. Is this long delay necessary? Because it sure isn't healthy for the site, and that should concern all of us who use it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64255.05
ETH 3499.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50