Don't get TRICKED - Watch out for SCAMMERS on Steemit Chat! 😨

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Scammers in the Chat

Hey Steemit friends,

I wanted to share this with you to make sure you are aware of the scammers and thieves that are trying to exploit people through the Steemit Chat.
I received a message from someone posing as @steemed-proxy. This account on Steemit is a very powerful and someone on chat is using their user name to trick people.

Watch out!

If you are messaged by someone that is asking to trade SBD for upvotes, don't do it. It may be tempting because it can seem like something like @randowhale or @booster.
Do not trust people asking you to transfer Steem to their bittrex account!

1.JPG

2.JPG

His English is a little sloppy, but seems like a nice guy....

3.1.jpg

Hmmm is this guy trying to be like a @randowhale service, trading Steem for upvotes??

3.2.jpg

Let's see....

4.JPG

More? What..?!

5.JPG

OH crap! I just realized I was tricked. I felt so stupid for being gullible. That was not smart at all.

Now he is asking to exchange SBD for STEEM. There is no way I am falling for that one.

6.1.jpg
6.2.jpg

Now, I don't know if my last comment is true, but I wanted to see if I could scare him after pissing me off.

7.JPG


I hope sharing this will help when people encounter these scammers in the chat room.
I am still somewhat new to the cypto world and this is an eye opener that their are people trying to us different means to scam and steal from you.
Keep an eye out for situations like this and share them.

Have a Steemy day and don't get scammed!
Please share with the community.
@acromott

Sort:  

Damn, sorry to see that you lost a few SBD but glad this guy is now exposed for everyone to see.

Yeah. It is ok. there is always a positive side to everything. At least I can share my experience and maybe help a few people not fall for something like this.

Sigh - Never a shortage of scammers once a system becomes popular. Honestly I think their IP should be track and BAM no more scammer

Yeah for sure. Newbie mistake on my part.

Unfortunately he can easily hide behind a VPN or something similar and just make another account to continue his scamming. It will never end. All we can do is educate the user base!

Yeah that's what I figured.
Very true. Educating the community is the best answer for sure
Thanks for your input :)

No problem! This is an issue everywhere. 90% of breaches in businesses are due to social engineering like you encountered here. Humans are usually the weakest link when it comes to security.

At my organization, we have over 100k employees, and trying to teach all of them how to not get phished by emails or other means is quite a huge deal with no real full proof answer. Can't require classes for 100k people. Not quite sure what the real answer is.....

@gardenofeden just made a post about this exact scam but the guy said he was @ned. You can read it here

Yeah I noticed his post like a day or two after i encountered this guy.
I saw his post and thought it was quite funny! :)

thanks to sharing this post....

Thank you for sharing!
I could have fallen for this too, so dont worry :D

We need more people to be BRAVE like you and speak out.

most welcome man!!

I haven't ventured into the depth of the chat system yet, always thought I was missing out not doing - now I'm thinking it maybe safer to stay clear. They were very clever and convincing - anyone would have thought it was a good deal - good on you for spotting the scam though and sharing so others can be forewarned and prepared.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59928.39
ETH 2649.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42