You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lets make #introduceyourself great again! We all will benefit!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hey, I try to browse through the intro posts section every now and then - how I stumbled on this post. The biggest problem is the mass of users abusing the tag for people wanting to reward legit newcomers.

A good idea would be to have someone or a group of people you follow that either resteem or comment on intro posts made by real new users which would make it easier for us with more influence to both cast votes more safely and make it less time consuming and reward the users going through them by voting up their comments.

Sort:  

Hey acidyo, thanks for stopping by!
I have a suggestion for you - Starting from today, I will resteem around three promising introduction-posts every day till Christmas ;)
You can look them up every day! - All others are of course invited to do so as well!

For sure, if you want you can create an alt account for it since resteems aren't yet filtered from own posts and you don't want to spam up your profile. Let me know in that case and I'll try to check up on it daily, threw you a follow just now.

Actually I have found a better solution than using @taug - I have just made the account @welcoming via anonsteem. I have already resteemd a few accounts I remembered from the past days. I will however make a post about @welcoming's purpose on monday and then resteem a few promising users every day. Thanks for giving me this idea, I think it's a way I definitely can add value to this plattform! Have a nice weekend!

So how do one go about being a promising user? I've recently made my first post, and would love the chance to discuss my ideas with people. My ideas are weird though. Anyhow, this is cool of you, thank you!

If a introduction is well done and meets certain criteria, it's promising to me :)

True, that is probably a better solution! I actually have made an altaccount before - @taug . Originally I made it for short content - But I will use it for those resteems instead for now" Greets!

Hey there @acidyo and @theaustrianguy! I like to browse through the new introduceyourself posts as well to add some value to new users. Thanks for both of your efforts in doing this! I know it's one of the main reasons I decided to stick around on Steemit.

Anyhow, I wanted to draw your attention to a couple of new efforts to support new Steemians.

  • First, there's @mitneb's daily curation posts. He targets users who may not speak English as their first language. He's done a great job of picking through #introduceyourself to find the actual intro posts. I'd suggest keeping an eye on the users that he curates. They're always worth a vote.

  • Next, my friend @gogogadgetupvote has started hosting a kind of contest for people to pick out new intro posts. Check out his blog if you want to find some more posts to support.

Once again, I appreciate both of your efforts to welcome new Steemians. There are also some project dedicated to Steemian "retention," which I first caught wind of thanks to @mikepm74. Still lots of work to be done, but I personally am looking into trailing accounts that curate intro posts so as to add value and promote new users' retention.

Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45