Where should you go first as a newbie from a newbie to a newbie.

in #steemit7 years ago

SO MUCH NEWBNESS

Hola everyone,

I hope you are all having a fantastic day. I wanted to write a little post just highlighting a few of the great resources available to every new Steemian joining from a new steemian himself.

I recently just started in the steemit community looking like a toddler in a grocery store alone. I had the great luck of stumbling upon some great people who got me into the ways of steemit and the yunk.

Which I will hold nothing but gratitude for and I wanted to show the other new users in this great community that though it may seem a little overwhelming. There are some great little steps you can take to further your understanding of the community and the site itself.

FIRST: Join the chat. Seriously. Get a username and hop right in with all your questions. There is a help section for anyone looking for assistance as well as a bumbin' general chat room with people to meet and discuss your goals and how to get you started. (Just keep them promotional links out) There's a room for that as well and many others where you may just find your niche of people to discuss your ideas that you have been keeping secret in a cave.

SECOND: Go watch "how to be a better steemian" by @clevercreator which explains very well and gently the do's and don'ts of the community as well as a basic understanding of how everything works. (Great job @clevercreator)

THIRD: It's not all about the money. I too joined thinking I may make some money off steemit. Which I, in no way, deny. The only thing is the connections you make on this platform are well worth the time invested just like your posts are. The people here are always friendly as long as you don't troll them too much and you never know, you may learn a few cool tricks to get you on your feet while getting them first few steem dollars rolling in.

FOURTH: Check out the FAQS, I was told this by my savior when I was joining steemit. @drakos , he is also a witness so check him out and I know hes always lurking in #help to assist all the new people.

FIFTH: Learn about the YUNK , it's a fairly new movement that just started out and we love humor so join in on the fun! Go into hot or trending then on the right you will see topics, scroll down, choose "more topics" and search yunk and you will see all the yunk tagged posts.

SIXTH: Learn to use the tags and the markdown styling guide in your posts. Headers and bold words and tags that relate to what you post about. This can really help boost your coverage to the areas you want to blog about or be a part of. I actually just learned it while making this post so. SEE! New things everyday. (the markdown styling guide I mean)

I know there are many great resources available and much more than I wrote down but if you happen to come across me first. Be sure to check out all the other great content available to you from people like you so that you may grow your knowledge and love for this great platform.

If there's anything I missed or should fix up on this post. Please do let me know :p Still new myself aha.


imgflip.com for the mémé.

Sort:  

We are happy that you are enjoying your time on SteemIt so far and couldn't be happier that you stumbled upon yunk... or shall I say found the yunk within you?

Up-Yunked

Congratulations @acedt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58363.73
ETH 2484.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39