Snapchat Steemit Geofilter! Can I get a yes please to create a Geofilter?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I was thinking of creating my own Steemit Snap chat Geofilter today until I saw the price tag is $24,310 to cover a small area in San Francisco, CA.

The area I was trying to cover in my Snapchat Geofilter was going to be for Fisherman’s wharf where there are a lot of people and lots of traffic.

I wanted to cover a larger area to target a bigger audience but the maximum sq. foot coverage is for 5,000,000 square feet of coverage.

Snapchat charges big money for this advertizing revenue.

The area I wanted to cover is just a tiny dot on the map compared to the world. How many people would this advertisement actually reach? Would it be worth the cost?

I can create a smaller map and advertisement for Steemit for a smaller cost.

If we submit our Geofilter for a smaller area in Las Vegas, NV the cost is reduced to nearly $500 instead of $24,310. This area would only cover part of the North Las Vegas airport though but I figured an airport should get lots of traffic and lots of views hopefully.

This is what my design looks like! Thoughts and comments are greatly appreciated.

The run dates would only be set to run through 3 days through the weekend starting August 19th and ending on August 21st.

But looking at the Snapchat submission guidelines I am not sure that I could even submit this filter without the proper authority and approval from Steemit, @ned and @dantheman. I wouldn’t want to submit this without approval this could be considered copy write infringement and I could be in trouble. You can view Snapchat submission guidelines here.

If I am able to get approval from @ned and @dantheman then I will go ahead and submit a Snapchat Geofilter if I can raise enough money to do it, this would be a good advertisement for the community and help get the word out about Steemit. Snapchat users are the younger generation of Americans so we could likely see a lot of new users as a result since the younger generation is more likely to come to Steemit, just like Facebook got big from young college students we need to target the younger generation then once we are big the older generations will start to join as well just like with Facebook.

I would keep my word and submit a Snapchat Geofilter if this post earns enough revenue to do so, the funds would be used to create this advertisement. Any suggestions or changes would be greatly appreciated. I would also like a copy of the Steemit logo with no white backdrop if I can get one.

I will put out updates on the progress and success of the Steemit Snapchat Geofilter if I can raise the funds to create one.

#steemit #snapchat #advertisement

Source: Snapchat and Steemit

Sort:  

good luck.. but I will suggest as it was suggested to me... crowdfunding lol

This is one of those moments when you think: "Why didn't I thought about that and make a 1,000 $ post on Steemit?"

That's a fantastic idea! I bet thousands of people go through that airport every hour!

Not a bad idea, maybe you can attract a whale to invest?? Good Luck!!

You got my vote, but you'll probably only get enough for half of a squar foot LOL
good luck!

Lol

That's one way to globalize Steemit. Just imagine all the people in the airport and all the places they will travel with Steemit in their pocket :)

This will be epic!!!!

good luck with it @acassity 8]

Neat idea. I didn't even know snapchat offered this sort of thing. :D

Yes! I love seeing the creative marketing this community is coming up with.
Although I do worry slightly that too much too soon could tarnish the public image of steemit. it is still in beta afterall, and not exactly easy to understand for the average non-crypto using consumer. not to mention the backlash we could get from another security breach.... and the hurdles that will come when authorities try to tax user's rewards...
all that said, you have my upvote!



Yeah that's how snspchat makes money $$$$ advertisers can pay to have Geofilters in certain locations so people are always using it looking for new filters!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51