You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Turning tides: One-sided public discourse on bidbots

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Very well presented, as always.

As usual, we shall wait for a well formed argument with data that show bid-bots doing more good than not... but we know not to hold our breath.

Revise your witness votes and wait patiently for change, for it seems only steemit inc and the major stakeholders (who are mainly bid-bot owners/delegators) can make the changes we seek to stop the pool being downed by only a few.

Sort:  

we shall wait for a well formed argument with data that show bid-bots doing more harm than good

I think you got the last part of that sentence backwards, but nevertheless I would be happy to put together such a well-formed argument! Please give me some time and I will write it up and make a post about it.

I don’t expect you or many others on the platform to agree with me, because it seems your minds are made up, but I want to at least dispel this ridiculous notion that bot owners are not eager and willing to engage with the community and discuss the topic.

heh.

You are quite right, I will edit that, thank you.

I have added you to ginabot because I am interested to hear what you have to say, thanks for the message.

It's true that a couple of owners have engaged, @themarkymark, @therealwolf, @aggroed to name a few, but the focus of the responses have mainly revolved around Trending.

We all know that Trending is not good, was never that good, and will probably never been of great quality, ever.

Communities and filters will arrive and bot voted posts may well be hidden (if managers can keep up with the new arrivals) and this is will be a good thing for the visibility of 'community agreed quality content' in these communities who choose collectively on what is the best content at that point in time.

However, the situation I and others can see already, is the delegators/owners of bid-bots not caring too much about who sees the posts, just as long as the cash keeps rolling in.

There may be a drop in users of bid-bots - those wanting in on communities who exclude them, and this will improve ROI for someone else who doesn't care less about visibility. They make money, the Bot owner takes the curation, the delegator gets paid.

This is surely not how this place was supposed to be?

If you could include in your post some words around this, that would be great.

Thank you.


@tarazkp - have a ginabot ping on me just in case you've moved on from here already :)

@yabapmatt I use a lot of the mini-bots (not many of the big ones because the bids are outside of my paygrade.) I would be very interested in reading your side of the discussion. I would also be interested in reading other's responses to your side. Because I've heard a lot of strong arguments for and against automation. I'm still on the fence. I use it. I don't overuse it. But I'm interested in the conversation. I'm going to check your page for a post. Not sure if you posted yet.

do you have that list of witnesses handy?

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66938.10
ETH 3118.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81