You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: User Authority, Resteems and the Drop-off. Stop your friends from trying steemit.

in #steemit6 years ago

Spot on.

I rarely welcome new folk these days, there are enough comments (some of them terrible bot messages) on intro posts.

Where I like to be involved is at the edge of the 'drop-off'. Many of the Engagement League members have hit lows after starting out brightly, and if I had an icecream for the number of times people had told me the the EL is what kept them here I'd be a fatty.

Engaging and commenting is key to surviving that drop, and I'm hoping those still here will be sticking with us to enjoy that tasty looking list you've presented above.

Cheers Matt!

Sort:  

I was wondering, when does this 'drop off' generally happen? I only really started posting seriously a few months ago, but I feel like my engagement has been pretty consistent. In fact, I had just the opposite effect. Although I've always put in a good amount of effort in my posts, when I started off I was getting literally 0-4 upvotes and it actually increased over time.

Well, it's always up and down, but I don't ever really remember experiencing any kind of drop off.

I guess it won't always happen. If you set your expections right from the start and have been consistently engaging, steady growth could well occur.

I suspect that a number of the accounts experiencing less interaction joined around Xmas 2017 when the place was buzzing, just in time for a 7 month decline in price and activity.

Yeah, that would make sense! This crypto market has gotten pummeled this year.

I'm just going to keep pushing forward. You have to believe in the technology as a whole and not get caught up in the coin frenzy.. At least that is how I see it!

I still manually go through the introduceyourself new and trending categories almost daily to look for promising new accounts to personally welcome them. It's enjoyable to me. As a PI it is a bit like people watching I suppose, and I don't like how most replies to those posts are bots. Quality new people deserve to be welcomed by humans! :)

Well i'm glad there are some humans still doing this arduous task. Hopefully the message is to gently tell them to stick at it and get involved :)

ditto. though i go hunting plagiarism.
sadly, i make more from that than i do posting :(

Yes, I used to give 4K of SP to smartsteem when prices were higher. It just isn't worth it though when I can engage people directly to make almost as much and better connect with others. The delegation was when I was mostly away and not active too.

There's a little money to be made for sure from reporting stuff using steemcleaners.org! I will report people for tag abuse for one example. I also keep an eye out for pedo crap to report. One of the reasons I became a PI was to fight child predators, and I don't want them or their content ruining the platform.

No worries, mate :)
Appreciate the resteem, too.
If they had a bit of context I think our retention levels could really jump.
It's just hard to stay motivated when they're apparently going downhill.

I agree. Let's face it though, most accounts arrive when the money is sloshing around, are uninterested in community, and have their own views on what is best for them.

My old boss had a saying, that 90% of his time and attention went to please his most difficult 10% of customers; who were responsible for 1% of his profits.
Not all punters are assets.

Let 'em go.
No Lambo.
Can't hold 'em back any more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98