You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why don't I upvote some people's content (anymore), even if I like it?

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi again @krnel

The problem I see if generally users were to boycott the bots would be that they still existed, as a then profitable tool for the bot owners.

It would act pretty much as a pay-for-vote self service machine where the delegator maximizes their stake, and the bot owner receives huge 'self' votes.

And further to this, who will police this action? As for the most part, the ones that would police in the past are the delegators to these bots. It seems we are in a tough place right now.

Sort:  

I don't think I quite understand what you're saying, maybe... To not support users who do use bidbots, would mean the bot owners would upvote their own posts? They could already do that before, but now they can do more with delegations to their accounts as you say, because people want to make ROI without working at it by curating and taking the time to do it. At least it would be more obvious how selfish it would at the expense of the platform at that point if that's what they did when no one would use their service. Maybe I misunderstood what you were saying...

Hi @krnel, sorry for the slow reply.

Yes, I have witnessed bot owners upvoting their own posts with their own bot when the bidding round is quiet.

This seems like paying yourself twice to me. I've even seen this happening without a bidsend via the wallet - not very transparent at all.

But as long as the delegators get paid, no one seems to care 😞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44