Delegate check-up and Witness advice

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello all

Time to check on my delegates and see if they are being a good bunch, or not. Also, a look at some potential Witness options and considering Bid-bots when making a choice.


research.jpg
source pixabay


Background

Steem Power isn't so easy to collect at present, especially for a young account, unless you have the funds to buy or can contribute to a d-app / utopian-io.

It's also pretty impossible to get around all the good people and their content yourself, so why not get a bunch of like minded people to help you out?

My delegates have mostly been involved in the Engagement League that I compile each Sunday. Drop your name in a comment on the latest Post for a chance to win some STEEM add/or delegated Steem Power. You'll also get to see your 7 day statistics if you are in the top 50 or so - which is hopefully a good thing!

The best 'engagers' could be delegated a little Steem Power to continue their good work in the community. I try to take into account the current Steem Power owned and focus on the 500 SP mark as being a good goal to boost an account towards.

There are no instructions or advice really, It's just a case of 'carry on what you are doing!'

I can of course check in the League how they are doing, but with 303 members (and a good opportunity for a Post!), I've singled them out for inspection below.

Delegates

The list excludes 'community' accounts like @utopian-io, @spaminator, @minnowsupport, etc, and my alt. :P I have left in 2 'family' accounts though.

What to look at?

Firstly, none of the accounts are delegating to Bid-bots (at least that was the case when I checked the other day). Delegations to accounts doing this are unlikely - I might as well do that myself if that's the case!

The number of self-votes per post - nothing out of the ordinary here. Although, with a young account, you are unlikely to have much of a financial impact doing this, and a well-placed vote elsewhere could perhaps benefit you more longer term.

Comments and comment length - Irrelevant of SP owned, this type of engagement is something everyone can provide. Time is probably the only restriction, and not everyone will have lots of that each week, so a low week or two isn't an issue.

Generally, I'm happy and somewhat proud of my delegates :)

One thing I did spot though was a fairly low amount of Witness accounts being voted for...

Witness votes

It's not easy, at least for me, to decide on 30 names from 100's. It's even harder when the selection list only shows the top 50.

That list is here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

A full list of Witnesses can be found here: https://steemian.info/witnesses

This image shows the top 50 Witnesses, and the coloured bars represent the SP size of the vote. The dark blue bar is @freedom, and it looks like if you have a vote from him as Witness, you almost certainly going to be in the top 50.

There is also an option available with allows you to choose a community member as a proxy for your 30 votes. This account doesn't have to be a current Witness.

The reality is that individually, a minnow is not going to have much impact on the standings - but that isn't the point, right!?

My Witness votes

Are probably available in full somewhere, but it's a bit like voting at the elections - you aren't sure if you really want your friends to know who've you've chosen in case you've picked a duffer, or haven't picked a most deserved community member.

My votes change quite often, and my current thinking is to want to cut Bid-bot delegates / owners. Many of the top 50 Witnesses fall into this category, but many of these also do excellent work for the community. Tough, isn't it?

Recently, I took the time to go through the top 50 and check on their Bid-bot delegation / ownership status. And I think that the following, as well as offering positive community work, don't have any connections to the above. At least on their main/Witness accounts.

@jesta, @gtg, @good-karma, @timcliff, @curie, @lukestokes.mhth, @clayop, @pharesim, @anyx, @cervantes, @utopian-io, @teamsteem, @blockbrothers, @patrice, @ocd-witness, @busy.witness, @klye, @ausbitbank

However, I could be wrong, and I'm open to changing this list if that's the case.

Also, this isn't a call for the people I have delegated to / reading this, to go and vote for these Witnesses, at least without a bit of personal research.


Alright then, anyone going to tell me who they vote for and why?

Do you think the delegates are doing alright? Go enter my league and see if you can do better :)

Cheers

Asher @abh12345


Edit: I added the witness-category tag - please let me know if this is reserved for Witnesses only. Thanks.

Sort:  

At me on the first place @qurator and @yehey, from them I get support and help. Farther in my list there is @jesta, @gtg , @good-karma, @curie, @anyx, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @therealwolf not because they have someone on the list, but because they participate in the life of Steemit. I think their ideas are useful for users of the platform.

Thanks for the mention @inna-yatsuk! We also got a witness up and running a few days ago, would love for you to check it out and maybe consider voting for us. =)

I will definitely check!

@inna-yatsuk
Highly appreciated and thank you once again.

@abh12345
You started an excellent discussion. This way, many will understand why they need to represent their witness.

Cheers.

Thnx for sharing

Screenshot_20180323_234352-1.png

the witnesses I have selected. I think @neoxian very exist because he always reply to chat many people.

are you a witness?

A nice list :)

No i am not a Witness, but you never know what can happen ;)

You never know what can happen! You would get a 📌 for sure!

Here's the list of witnesses I've selected

IMG_20180323_233446.JPG

@ausbitbank, @blocktrades, @good-karma, @curie, @neoxian, @netuoso, @steemgigs, @pharesim, @mahdiyari, @jerrybunfields

I am not a vote with the rest of my vote but I would choose if a very good witness I know of his contribution to the steemi planet community. thanks for sharing.

I’ve been slacking in witness vote department for a long time now. I voted for a few ones the other night. Hoping by end of the weekend I’ll be closer to 25 witnesses voted for. I also need to check up on older ones I have been voting for. Some of them I've forgotten even why I voted for them in first place.

Which is also why I've never been close to voting for 30. If you can't even check up on ones you are voting for on some kind of regularity then you really should not be taking on more in my opinion.

I find myself not interacting much with witness. Most just don’t produce content I’m interested in so I don’t tend to follow many. Which does make it a little hard to keep up to date on what they have been doing and making sure my votes are not supporting things I don’t want them to be.

I’m hoping to be back to higher amount of comments by mid of next week. Still trying find a balance between some new things I’ve taken on and laying the ground work for other things outside of the blockchain. While I’m not dead last on the list here I would certainly like to be much higher!

I find myself not interacting much with witness. Most just don’t produce content I’m interested in so I don’t tend to follow many. Which does make it a little hard to keep up to date on what they have been doing and making sure my votes are not supporting things I don’t want them to be.

Yeah this is true for me too. The thing is, they don't have to engage if they don't wish to, but I think fairly regular content and updates would help their plee.

Plenty of time to rise up the list if you wish to :D

I don't use my full 30 witness votes. its a lot and its hard to decide. I vote for people that offer a services such as @arcange for the server he runs, @demotruk for the support he gives the irish.

I also give out delegation to those trying to grow and support others. I might implement a similar report for them as I do hope to give more in delegations

Same :)

A report like that would be interesting, if you could track all their alts!

Nice post my friend

LOL @osm0sis. I said I was not going to vote again today, but you have my small upvote. My VP is sadly trending at the 50% level again. Time to go MIA once more!

NooOOoOoOoooooOooooOO!!! Not back down to 50 again 😱
Get off the batmobile, get back in the batcave. Damn girl, you're out of control!
Here, have some back 😍

Batcave for sure! I need to build it up so my upvote could pack more punch. You were supposed to be my last upvote, but had to shell one small one out to the King of engagement, as we like to call Asher.

Pls don't publish any posts today or tomorrow, either of you. Or else I have to break one more upvote promise. Although Asher might get hit with a small one from me with my FOG support, those don't count.

Appreciate the support, I am giving one back in spirit. :)

I can promise you that for sure. I'm blaaawged out for the weekend.
"King" Asher on the other hand.. a whole other story 😉

King Asher's post received a few more upvotes from me. Sigh. Batcave with no internet. That's what I need.

At least you are the spammer's friend! That's got to count for something. :)

Let me know when you've found that something please :)

I had all four of them lined up at the top too to start with :D :D :D

I forgot to add @abh12345, I also vote for these two witnesses who are not in the top 50.

dragosroua
qurator

@dragosroua created and manages steem.supply which I use every day, and patiently responds to questions about the blockchain, steemit, steem etc.

He is also creating a video series to help newbies.

@qurator has only just become a witness but they were the first help I got when I joined and have always been very supportive to newbies.

Yes I have votes for 6/7 not in the top 50.

It's really a personal choice, and whoever's helped you is a fair choice for a vote :)

As of the moment, I've voted for a total of 12 witnesses only. That primarily includes 3 Filipino witnesses who helped not just me but our Filipino community in steemit; @precise, @cloh76.witness and @steemgigs [@surpassinggoogle's witness]. The other 9 witnesses are @blocktrades, @curie, @imacryptorick, @jerrybanfield, @jrswab, @pfunk, @pharesim, @teamsteem and @themarkymark. Please tell me about your suggestions on to whom I'd consider throwing my remaining witness votes. Have a great day man!

Looks pretty good! For some reason I started worrying that my numbers would look funny, that there would be some glaring issue. Then I realized that I hadn't changed anything in how I interact with the community... actually, I dropped those 5 self-votes per week. I used to vote on my own post.

I feel like things are going pretty well. I've seen engagement skyrocket for a lot of people on that list. Most of them were people who were already very engaged and "won" a delegation by being in a top slot for your contest. This meant that people who were already doing the "right things" had more weight behind those activities. I think it has been successful thus far. It motivated me a lot, and now I'm closing in on 500! Just passed 300 and looking forward to blazing ahead! :)

They look good to me :)

And yes, the League seems to be a good motivation which I'm really happy about. Making the top 10 in the 2nd league is likely to bring you more financial reward that curating directly for $ with < 500 SP. But you knew that anyway :)

Good luck on the 500 hunt, i hope it comes soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70