Curate your birth date!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello everyone!

A few days ago I commiserated celebrated my 39th Birthday and honestly, my mental state was a lot more positive than I remember when I turned 29. Is it really true that some things do improve with age? In your 40th year, you certainly start to hope so!

Currently, yo vivo en Mallorca, which is an island off the eastern coast of Spain. This time of year it's a bit chilly (anything sub 15c/60f is cold to me!) but during the spring and summer it's a lovely place to spend your time.

On a sunny winter's day though, you can still don your Steemit t-shirt and take some birthday selfies :)


IMG_9301.jpg
Cheeky


IMG_9297.jpg
Cheesy

Another bonus is that my mum lives here too, so unlike many recent years gone by, I was treated to my favourite snack for lunch.

CHEESE ON TOAST!


IMG_9353.JPG
Cheesiness

Shitloads of salt, and cheese covering all the bread - that's the way to do your grilled cheese on toast!

Mother also has a dog named scruff, who acts like a cat, hates cats, and gets spoilt terribly. Yes, I'm jealous! But I still have room in my heart for some stroke-time.


IMG_9232.JPG
Cheesiest

Right that's enough cheese and teeth for a little while!


In trying to think of a blog to cover my birthday in a way that wasn't just

'hi selfie, it's my birthday, up-vote me I deserve it!'

I put my #stewardsofgondor thinking cap on, and up popped a thought bubble...

Why not go see who joined and posted on your birthday this year?

An idea was born :D

After a little scripting I managed to present a list of about 15 posts, and from this found 3 to be worth of a birthday style welcome.


script.png
3000 characters sneaks me under the recommended Curie minimum ;)

All three posts received a reasonable up-vote (I'm a bit of a tight-arse with vote weight cause I like to share the love) and the messages below:


message.PNG
@andshegoes


message2.PNG
@idzida


mess3.PNG
@octobre

Curation is time-consuming and sifting through the new stuff can be draining, I found this method fun and hope that these guys are encouraged by the welcome message and extra boost. It's a great time to be involved here, so lets try an make as many folks welcome as possible.


Has anyone else got an interesting or unusual approach to curating they would like to share?


Have a great day all, I promise no more charts or script today :)

Asher @abh12345

Sort:  

You look like a happy man.

Congratulations.

Thank you @onealfa!

Life isn't so bad eh 😁

who can be sad with so cute dog! :D

I got one cute dog here too:
https://steemit.com/dtube/@onealfa/ty38q62q

So nice that you're happy and I hope you'll be next year when you reach 40 ;P

Gracias tio!

Happy belated birthday 🎉
Can't be bad to celebrate it with family and girlfriend and to top it off to be in Mallorca !

Just goes to show even the 1 before 40 isn't a complete nightmare!

Thanks man!

My pleasure:)

You got a 9.46% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @abh12345!

Happy belated birthday. We have not interacted but I crossed your path a couple times seeing your posts and comments. You do terrific work and are an asset to steemit.

Thank you for all your contributions here. The next year is going to be wonderful.

Enjoy your time in Spain...it looks marvelous.

Thank you @taskmaster445

Yes I dont believe we have, but I've seen you adding value to the Steem Blockchain also, and wish you an awesome 2018 too!

Thank you @abh12345 for the compliment. I am doing my best to add value to this blockchain and make it a much better place.

2018 will be fabulous for all of us steemians...I believe we will see $100 STEEM....that will put a smile on all our faces.

Belated happy birthday!! So glad that you are blessed and happy .. 😊 may you have more to come. See you around here on steemit! 😊

Thank you very much!

Have fun here in Steemit land 😁

Happy birthday señor!!!!!
I'm 39 too (Lucas)... and Steemitri will never die, haha, eventually he will be recycled...
Big hug
Lucas and Steemitri

Thank you Lucas and the invincible @Steemitri!

We follow one tag with the Filipino curation team...but recently, most are now having higher upvotes. What we might do is to select only those with the lowest rep. Still in planning stage.
Belated mate!

This sounds like a good plan to me. Sometimes (ok, a lot of the time!) the quite good posts get missed and only the very good get selected (for @curie etc), so it's good to support the people that have potential to improve too.

Thank you!

Fair for everyone...that's the aim.

@abh12345, it's me again, I just discovered that one of the newcomers you welcomed was my friend @idzida whom I introduced to Steemit in hope she'll want to become part of the community and will find this place rewarding! I'm am so thankful for your initiative! Good job! All the best? Klaudia :)

Well done you with the recruitment, and thanks for the birthday wishes! 😁

Greta way to celebrate your Birthday! And as a special bonus, you get more great wishes even 22 hours afterwards! Upvoted!

Thanks Johann!

I see you are a programmer. Perhaps you can find a way to submit a contribution or two to Utopian?

@abh12345

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44