Steemit Part Time Results First 30 Days

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello Everyone!

About 30 Days ago I announced that I would be working on steemit part time to see what it would be like to share content with everyone and I wanted to break it down a little for everyone and give my opinion on it at the end!

Results
Posts: 24
Average: 1 post every 1.25 days
Earnings: 125.98 Author Rewards
Common Tags: Life, food, health, CryptoCurrency, Gaming, and steem

High Opportunity, Little Results.

What I Have Learned?
Someone with about 1350 followers, they seem to be the same type of followers like on twitter. BOTS. This is a disappointing speculation I have. My friend @JerryBanfield Has about 11,000 followers receiving about 450 Upvotes or views per post. That is about 4% of his followers, viewing or uprooting his content. I might end up doing a solo post based on the bot aspect of steemit.

My average post gets about 15 upvotes or views which would indicate that 1.1% of my followers are upvoting me. That would need to be a percentage increase or decrease less than 1% due to the fact that someone not following me saw my post.

What I Noticed?
Whales, I had a couple whale upvotes more recently but not in the first 30 days. They seem to seek out posts that are thoughtful and obtain many UNIQUE images. However, the whales typically up vote the post about 1% voting power. This results into a thought of big whales just auto-voting most of the content they vote on.

My Recommendation!
I would encourage many people to use Steemit because it presents a great opportunity to any curator! Especially bloggers, who see little to no results on their website, steemit presents a good opportunity for them!

On the other hand, I would like to say, if you are looking to make a lot of money on steemit, YOU WILL NEED TO BUILD UP YOUR INVESTMENT! You have a great opportunity to gain a lot of money here!!! As long as you invest a lot into steem and become a whale yourself! Just my 2 cents.

Cheers,
Albert

AlbertArellanes.com
Find all my videos on Youtube!

Time to get my Steem On!.png

Sort:  

Very interesting analysis.

I enjoy posting on steem and I have wondered about the potential financial return possibilities.

I have been lucky to get a couple of my posts 'Curie'd' with $100 payouts. They have skewed my earnings. Generally I am currently getting on average a couple of dollars per post.

If I could spend the time and write say 4 posts a day that might earn $10 a day with some curation $ as well.

Four posts would need at least 4 hours to write, so an earning rate of $2.50 an hour is not so attractive in the UK.

The opportunity cost is the big issue. If one treats steemit as an income generator you have to ask the question - could I earn more per hour doing some other (any other) job? At this level, the answer would be yes!

So it is lucky that I don't do steem for the money. But maybe one day 😊

I know what you mean! In Seattle Minimum wage is $15/hour so 2.50 is Far from enjoyable lol.

I think one of the things to consider with the time investment is compounding effort. If you are working for $2.50 an hour now, but build a following that includes a few whales, and in say six months of constantly putting good content out there on a daily basis, you build up enough of a reputation to be earning $100-$200 per post, or $800/day at $200/hour was making $2.50 per hour in the beginning worth it?

There is also the question of where the time you are spending on Steem came from. for me, the vast majority of the time I am spending on the platform was time I was using on Facebook or Twitter anyway, so my real value of that time was $0.00, so $2.50 per hour is certainly an increase from that rate of return.

Plus, what if reading and curating leads you to be one of the ICO investors in the next BitCoin, the sort of thing you will never get on Facebook.

I'm opting to look at this whole experience as an investment toward future growth. Some investments pay off, others do not. We'll see where on that spectrum Steem lands.

Well said Friend!!!! From what I hear it takes about 100 really good posts - WHAT!!!! I have only done a couple of really good ones :) I have a very long ways to go - aarellanes, WE GOT THIS!!!! Sunshine247

YEAH WE DO! My best post is my Vacation post Day 1-2 earning about $30.

I look forward to your next upvotable post. I already picked them for #23 though.

thanks for the very real honest recap of your experience. The whole bot situation really makes me question steemit in general sometimes. When ever money is involved people will always find ways to abuse it. I just hope that in time they will be shunned out of the community and only real genuine content like yours and mine will be rewarded. I could be wrong about the usefulness of these bots but as of now I just don't see the benefit. Wishing you lots of crypto-prosperity @aarellanes I relate this to art (which I find myself doing with most things in my life) lol before that one masterpiece there were 100's of awful drawings that no one cared about ;D not to say no one cares about your lower rewarded posts at all. Just saying persistence pays.

Thanks Barry! I hope you keep your great work coming too!!!! :D

It's sad to see such a low level of engagement by your followers, but i guess i'll try this out anyways, i've got nothing to lose. Liked the post btw, keep it up!

Yeah, That is why I mention the Twitter aspect. Most ppl there just want Follow for Follow.

Thank you Albert for giving an overview of doing Steem part time and ending with the message of building up investment! Here is a 100% upvote from a whale :)

Thank you Mr. Whale @jerrybanfield!

Thanks for the insight man. I'm liking the pep talk! Steem on!

Thank you fellow steemian!

Good post, I am new to steemit too and having fun with it / new follower / peace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61