If You Want To Earn Money On Steemit, Hold Your SP, Build Your SP

in #steemit5 years ago

When I was new to Steemit, I never knew how important SP was. I made a blog post on my mistake of not saving my SP. You can earn more just by having more SP alone. For instance, I have a problem where I pour my heart into my posts only for them to get ignored. Way back, I made a post on what not to say to someone with ADHD and it was ignored, no one batted an eye. I spend 20 mins on that post for nothing. Point is, had I kept my SP, I could have upvoted myself and got more in curation rewards when I upvoted someone else. You get curation rewards when you upvote someone else and you get a small % of their rewards. This is a great way to build your SP and get the payout when they get there's. I know it's tempting to power down and go shopping, but you want to keep your SP. I would wait until you hit the thousands before powering down. Don't let your SP get to the point where your upvotes are worthless. I think you need at least 60SP for your upvotes to be worth anything unless it has changed.
counting-3125587_960_720.jpg
If you are a new Steemer, save your SP! It will benefit you in the long run here on Steemit.

Sort:  

20 mins

I only spend like 5 to 10 min on my posts, even on the 4-paragraph long ones, but @volderhein spends over 2 hours on his.

I could have upvoted myself

If your posts pay out less than 0.02, you get nothing. Upvoting posts getting less than 0.02 also gets you nothing since their author is getting nothing.

Your best chance is engaging with users like me who are willing to upvote you because your posts are interesting. Comment and upvote on our posts. Maybe they'll return the favor.

Steemit started taking the 2 cents back in March. I meant if I held on to my SP, I would have had 100SP because I had 60SP this time last year. I think your upvote is worth 3 cents at 100. I have to use Dustsweeper so I don't lose my 2 cents.

100 SP does not give a 0.03 upvote. It depends on how much STEEM is worth. Currently it's only worth around a 0.01 upvote.

Also remember dustsweeper only upvotes twice a day.

Steemit should of just gave the 2 cents, it wasn't hurting anyone

It was and that's why it stopped. People could just spam posts every 5 minutes using numerous free accounts and upvote themselves using the initial borrowed 15 SP. That was happening. Bot accounts.

If it can be abused, then it will be abused.

At least they could have told someone, I thought Steemit was taking my money when my 2 cents jumped to zero with no explination.

They do keep the updates public. Follow @steemitblog.

I was all over Steemit and saw nothing. I even looked up 'my payout goes to zero' with no result

I also had that problem. When I started I got like 20 SBD or 30, I don't remember correctly. But all I did was, move it around to test it out if Steemit was legit. Bought some Bitcoin and all that jazz. Now I regret it off course, because I could have been a lot further if I converted it to SP, specially when the Steem price was around 2.5 dollar.

But about that 60 SP to have a profit ... Im not sure about that. I asked around and they told me that you need to have at least 0.02 profit on a post to get a payout, and that is around 500 SP. But my theory was, and a little bit is, 0.004 is the minimum for a payout. My upvote is 0.0025, so I can not still test it, but will will see when I get there.

One of my goals, actually my second and last goal on Steemit, is to be able to upvote myself a profit. Then I must say that I made it on Steemit.

Having 50 or 60 SP guarantees you'll get curation rewards from upvoting other people's posts. Until then, your upvote won't get you any curtaion rewards.

Aah, so that is why I get so many curation SP this last days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97