Help Me Start a Steemit Community For a Deserving Group!

in #steemit-veterans7 years ago (edited)

image.jpeg

I'm looking to start a Steemit community for an important group of people that have always had a special place in my heart. I have always wanted to do something to help this group. Steemit has given me the platform to do just that! I have looked around and did not see any tags created for this group. I'm hoping to change that and I need your help to do it. This important group of people are active duty military and veterans. As a fellow veteran, I am quite aware of the many sacrifices this dedicated bunch have suffered through to protect and serve us.

Unfortunately the U.S. is quick to send troops into harms way, but once their service is over, they are quickly forgotten. There are countless veterans that are suffering through poverty, homelessness, and illness. The Veteran's Administration is ill-equipped and under funded to properly deal with the needs of these forgotten heroes. Regardless of your take on war in general, or a particular conflict, these people did what they thought was right at the time and gave what they had for service to their country.

I want to create a Steemit community, #veterans, where active-duty military and veterans of all nations worldwide can come together, share their stories, get things off their chest, get their blogs noticed, or simply to ask for help when they have nowhere else to turn to. We haven't even begun to tap into the potential that the Steemit platform has to help others. Active-duty military and veterans are a group that I believe deserve any help that we as a community can give. I do not want this to turn into political debates, I simply want to help this group of people that have been forgotten by their country.

If you are an active duty military member, veteran, family or friend of someone serving or that has served, or somebody that supports this group as I do, please help me to get this community up and running. Post an intro, share a story of a special veteran in your life, or whatever you would like to share using the tag #veterans. My end goal for creating this group/tag is to raise money for active duty military and veterans in need. Once I get this group started, I have a veteran in mind that I will be sharing his story and hopefully raising money for him and his family as they are going through a difficult financial time and illness.

Please upvote, comment, follow, and RESTEEM! I need your help to get this off the ground!!!

image.jpeg
Image by: @sflaherty

Sort:  

Great idea @jdawg
I am an Army/Navy Vet who stands with you on this mission!

I appreciate it. Thank you for commenting!

Thank you MissionToTheMoon for serving and letting me have my freedom and rights. Hope you have a good day!

Thank You @tylersilver for your Kind Words!

God Bless the Troops!! Give em Hell Boys! We are too Strong to Keep Down!
#GodBlessAmerica #GodBlesstheTroops #FreedomsNotFree

Thank you for reading and commenting!

Thank you For Writing it!

Fellow Army veteran with 33 mo boot shop on ground in Iraq. You have my support and have been resteemed

Army/Air vet here. I'm with you on this.

I like your initiativew

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60633.78
ETH 3383.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52