Steemit-Uyo Poetry Contest - A Mother #MyEntry

I'm writing this poem for you, mom because I want this poem to be, my own special way of showing you how much you mean to me. I have so much to say and I don't think this poem will do, but each word in between these lines comes straight from my heart for you. I know I haven't been a perfect son, but you've taken things in stride, and no matter how many problems I've had you've always been by my side


image credit

You taught me how to walk,
And you taught me how to talk
You provided a roof over my head,
And always made sure I was feed

You taught me morals and standards,
The meanings of living and all about giving
What a wonderful, beautiful, thoughtful intelligent mother I have,
And you make me truly glad.

You brought me my first toy,
My first bike and water gun
You filled my heart with joy,
And you filled my life with love.

You taught me how to count,
And how to say my ABC's,
How to say "You're Welcome,"
"Thank You," and "Pretty Please."

You taught me "Our Father,"
And "Thank you lord, Full of Grace,"
And how to greet a neighbor,
With a smile and embrace.

You taught me that all things,
Come from Jesus up above.
But most of all, sweet Mother,
You taught me how to love.

I'm proud of you because
You never gave up hope when the times were hard
You kept going forward through it all, yard by yard
You have never let others change who you are

You have always shown me that you're my favorite star
You move through the unknown with strength,
no matter how far the length.

Your hands held me gently from the day I took my first breath
Your hands helped to guide me as I take my first step
Your hands held me close when the tears would start to fall
Your hands were quick to show me that you will take care of it all

Your hands were there to brush my hair, or straighten a wayward bow
Your hands were often there to comfort the hurts that didn't always show
Your hands helped hold the stars in place, and encouraged me to reach
Your hands would clap and cheer and praise when I captured them at length

THANK YOU SO MUCH MOTHER FOR MAKING ME WHO I AM TODAY


Your one and only humble son


Solomon


The one and only @sirsticks

thanks for visiting my blog

Sort:  

Wow...
I should write about my mother soon too

Really beautiful

Thank you so much sis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51