How to improve Steemit User Interface-Brainstorming

in #steemit-ui8 years ago

Hello folks!

Today I'll just try to tell you guys some ideas I have to make Steemit a better place. I know a lot of third-party apps are coming and improvement are on their way of course but I think it would be nice to add my two cents. Maybe because I just like to talk and write a lot! Some will probably obvious, maybe others won't, share your ideas and suggestions in the comments!


So what could we do?

  1. Add some notifications when someone comments on your post. I'd like to see a small number in light blue in the top right corner of the bubble shaped picture where the profile is.
  2. A second notification on the lower left corner of that same bubble that starts light blue and gets darker as your post gets upvoted, when it does get upvoted of course.
  3. The ability to follow people properly under a "Followed" tab. Notifications welcome when one of those people put up some content on Steemit.
  4. I WANT my comments to be in a different colour on a post, only to me of course. Doesn't matter what colour but just so I can quickly find it back. Or to have my comments put on top of the comment thread, only to me again but just so I can find it back easily and rapidly.
  5. For some reason I can't explain, some tags appear then disappear and it's really hard to find a post back when it didn't become popular!
  6. I would like to be able to find the post I upvoted recently under a timeline thingy because I wanted to send one post to one of my friend and it took much more time than it should have to find it back!
  7. I'm not so sure about a chat option since as many people pointed out it would probably lead to a bunch of steemians begging to whales for upvotes. But to make steemit a true social media we need to be able to interact in a more direct manner so there should be a messaging option akin to a mailbox. With a spam filter enabled to make sure beggars and advertising don't flood your inbox.
  8. Comments should be diplayed on the right or left of the post and easily scrollable (is that a word?). When someone comments about something and I have to scroll back up to find the sentence, it's not ok.
  9. The user should have his hand held along the way with a nice tutorial that's maximum 30 seconds when you get in here for the first time.

I'll probably come off as nitpicky or straight dicky but it's all because I want to see Steemit thrive :) Please don't take it personally and I'll gladly hear any critics you might have.


What about making Steemit more accessible?

There are a bunch of things to improve, I'm not saying this in a condescending manner, it's actually motivating!

The documentation needs to be accessible from a unique page in or tab and all the explanations written by Steemians have to be centralized (sweet irony). It's a hassle to go through a google custom search and different or redundant articles to find the correct documentation. Also, we are early adopters but new comers won't sift through the white paper to understand the difference between Steem, Steem power and steem dollars. This need to be simply put and explained with images and examples for the average Joe.

As I said in a previous post, since Steemit is really young, it needs all the help it can get and centralizing the documentation nicely translated by the users would be a very good idea too.

The text editor needs some improvement too. The tab with the options to choose the police and insert images must follow the top of my page while I scroll down. I don't want to scroll way up again and again when I'm writing something.

It has be made easier to put an image in the text. Adding links doesn't work all the time, I can't change the size of the images I want to put in my post. Also, it should be possible to add the image from my own computer and files and not only through a web page. It often doesn't display properly and I have to check the raw HTML to make sure it is there. This is not the user's job.



Going off track, what about the content?

I see a lot of clickbait, tragic life stories capitalizing on people's pity and voyeurism going to trending. Please don't add fuel to the fire. We, as users, have to take this social media where we think it's the best and I really don't wanna see another Facebook with "You won't believe what happens next" and "See how I became fit in 2 years" posts all over the place. Now if those get to trending it means people are upvoting and liking the content so I won't hate but I just want to say that personally, this really isn't what I would like to see in here.



Alright, that's all I wanted to say for now, keep up the good work #steemit and #steemians!


Stay Curious!


#steemit #steemuser #user #interface #proposal #idea #ui #new #steeminterface #bettersteem #steemit-help #steemit-idea #improvement #steem-ui #ui-steem #better #steemit-idea #rant #curious #creativity


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15