Team Steemit - Red Bull 400 - Bischofshofen, Austria

in #steemit-promo8 years ago (edited)

I posted a few weeks back about a trip myself, and 12 friends were making to the Red Bull 400 at Bischofshofen, Austria. We decided to get some tee-shirts printed up and shout the Steemit name from 'The Roof Tops' for the day, well, to be more specific, from the top of a Ski Jump..

We got a lot of people asking us;

What is Steemit?

or to be more accurate..

Was ist Steemit?

I thought I would share with you our day at the Red Bull 400, and the moment that I was in the most (self inflicted) pain of my life (video included)!!

The Red Bull 400:

This is simply, a race up a ski jump, with gradients hitting 40% over the 400m distance. Sounds pretty easy on the surface, but I can assure you, the pain I've felt at the end of marathons pails into insignificance compared to how I felt finishing this race.


One of my friends George, sat me down before the race and said to me

I've been watching the early waves, people don't seem to pass each other after the first 150m. Go out hard and fast and you'll be just fine...

I didn't realise he was winding me up. So I went out hard, and lead my wave through the first 150m, but then the gradient kicked in. I'm pretty sure I was coughing up parts of my lungs by the time I hit 150m to go, my head was saying run, my legs could only manage a forced shaky walk. But I wasn't the only one...

Video Footage of Team Steemit;

Unfortunately, we had to wear Red Bull 400 Tee-shirts during the race (Red Bull insisted), however I did manage to get a Steemit shout-out in a Start line Interview which I will hopefully get a copy from Red Bull (I was picked due to being the only English guy in my wave, it was a very international event). I genuinely couldn't stand up for 15mins post race. The unfortunate thing was, we all had to walk all the way back down to get lunch..

This is full footage of me completing the Red Bull 400 in 5min:50sec...Go Pro on Chest

Me and Thomas (my very Strong French Friend) at the finish line. He Smashed me!!

Ross and Thomas in the Final, I was glad to be too slow to qualify in the Top 10%

Before and After the Race

We were getting the Steemit name out there, walking around with our branded Tee-Shirts on, chatting to the really great local people in Austria, and others who had travelled in from further a far..


Some of my Friends Really Got into the Steemit Promo

You will be hearing from a few of these jokers in the weeks to come. They really had fun over the day doing promotion for Steemit, even though their level of understand in what Steemit is was very basic..



I will be looking to Promote Steemit wherever I can at similar events in the future...

Hope you enjoyed!!

Sort:  

It is a real fun! This year we attended the Redbull 400 with my family! All of us completed the challenge. I posted two small video to dtube :)

That's awesome! Loved the "Was ist Steemit?" comment. Definitely made me chuckle out loud!

That looked like a grueling but rewarding race.

For some reason this picture drew some comparisons to fish :)

5502c0adb2174b8.jpg

Very Good. That does fit quite nicely. Thomas loves doing handstands. It's his thing. I must have 20 photo's of him doing a handstand in a silly place on this trip. Like this one...

go go go steemit team , we are the best , I wish I was there !

It was great fun, when you forget about the pain ;) Highly recommend that you visit Austria in the Summer. Amazing Place!!

Fully enjoyed! I used to ski a lot and found the ski jumpers rather insane, especially when I very first started skiing... ;) After a while, I was hooked and totally understood the need for speed, acceleration and, above all, flight! thanks for the great post and dedication to Steemit too. Namaste :)

A me mi è piaciuto molto Salisburgo.

Such beautiful shirts - envy takes))). I ordered myself and waiting. Thanks for the post.

Oh man, bet this post is going to the top. Get in early, people!

love steemit and whole team

go dont stop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43