If You Hate Steemit Spam, Look at This Posting RIGHT NOW.

in #steemit-police7 years ago (edited)

If you hate steemit spam, check this post out right now! I have a way to help get rid of these spammers! Check it out!!

I have this idea that my followers or supporters could send me screenshots of spammers, and I will include them in one of my posts, credited to you. And so far, it has been working well. It has broguht more attention to specific spammers, and we have the targets in line for a shot, and we are firing.

I have 1200+ followers, So I have some decent exposure, plus I have some people resteem my posts as well to get even more exposure. Make sure to send me a screenshot via comment on this post, and once I get enough evidence from you guys, I will make a post about it and credit anyone who sent me a screenshot of a spammer. We really need to expose these selfish spammers who have no regard for people seriously trying to work hard on this platform, while they just take away from the Steemit pool and annoy hard-working Steemians. These people are taking away from legitimate Steemit bloggers who are putting in an actual effort. All of the good posts are drowned in a sea of meaningless posts and spammy comments.

Recently, I have been making it an effort to find spammers and expose them to people and have the help of dolphins and whales to help flag them and get rid of them. The problem is so big, muting them won't work. We need to do this for the sake of Steemit, and the sake of what is right.

We need to get this movement as widespread as possible, so a resteem on this post will be highly appreciated. I am doing my best to clean up Steemit, and I can't do it without you guys. We need to group together. We need to fight these spammers and bots who are destroying the Steemit kingdom. If you want Steemit to last, you would want to get rid of the spammers, they are taking away from us!

So far, this project of mine has been going well. The spammers I have shone some light on have been getting flagged down, and their rep is being flushed down the toilet. I can't do a lot of people at one time, but I can hunt down a few at a time and have some of my dolphin and whale friends help me out, and if you are a dolphin or a whale, or even a minnow, please upvote and resteem this post so we can get this post on the trending page and make it more visible so we can spread the word to more and more people so we can take back Steemit from the thieving spammers.

Here is what some of y'all have been saying in response to this epic movement:


@adevieka says:


Screenshot from 2017-08-21 17:41:41.png


@noemilunastorta says:


Screenshot from 2017-08-21 17:43:08.png


@jerrybanfield says:


Screenshot from 2017-08-21 17:42:44.png


@lightingmacsteem says:


Screenshot from 2017-08-21 17:42:56.png


We are growing, and we are making a difference by getting rid of these god awful spammers. We will clean steemit in no time. Upvote this and resteem it so we can get this post trending and have more people see it so this movement and get bigger and pop off like fireworks for the sake of steemit.

-I have hope for my life,family, and friends thanks to steemit-1.png

Sort:  

I hope you don't mind me asking: Why are all these posts flavored with a Sherlock image?!

I don't want to claim ownership over that image - it's available stock photography - but these posts do not have much to do with detective work, do they?

ur sherlock image is better than mine

because i likey them

This is a great idea. Keep up the hard work.

Great idea. You have my support to identify spammer. I had resteemed to spread the words. Let's work together to outcast spammer and create a better environment.

Good work, resteemed to spread the words.

Hey this left a message on my post openly saying it is a bot. Is it really a steem bot or is it a spammer. I ask because it asked me to follow for 3 hours. https://steemit.com/@extras

Cool...It is a spam bot that is trying to advertise a resteem service. I made a post about it and included credits to you for bringing it to my attention. Thanks!

Awesome work my friend found on yesterday but cheetah bot was on it . Such as assholes with rewards come frauds.

this is a really good idea! Resteemed to spread the word! lets get rid of the spammers that take away the magic of steemit 😊😊

Yeah spammers are like scammers. They spoil the name for good hardworking people and reduces the credibility of the system.

Its a good idea, although i can see one problem.

Spam is very subjective. One person might call something spam.. another person might think this "spam" is exactly what they wanted or were looking for.

Then if we run around accusing everyone.. spreading peoples names around.. sounds like a witch hunt.

Steemit has a voting system.. which makes it so good content is found easily and is promoted.. low quality content is hidden.

Not sure if we need vigilante justice :)

I might add.. once you have spread these peoples names around.. if your wrong and make a mistake.. that's called slander.

Might get some people in legal trouble..

Well, if one post that is mentioned is considered spam, then there is nothing wrong with mentioning it. Just make sure it is a spam comment. And I highly doubt these spammers really care about what people say about them, they might get angry and try to flag you, but that's about it. I list specific comments for a reason, I list the evidence. Specific evidence. I include their name too so people can identify where spam may be coming from.

This "witchunt" has been taking down consistent spammers, for your information and has been doing a good job at that. Bots may flag spammers, but it doesn't target them one group at a time to eliminate them. This method allows people with a bigger voting power to help eliminate those who are stealing from the steemit rewards pool.

I don't know if you know, but there are 1700+ accounts made to steal from the rewards pool led by one guy, and others are doing it as well. Check out this post on it: https://steemit.com/steemit-police/@sherlockholmes/case-7-raping-the-reward-pool-with-1700-accounts-things-are-getting-serious

Flagging isn't enough for the pace that all of these spammers and spam bots are being created at. If you has any idea how many spammer accounts and spam bots accounts are being created exponentially, you would think other wise.

People are tired of the spamming bullshit, and that is planely it. Thanks for your concern,

~ @alex-icey

Wow 1700 accounts.. stealing from the rewards pool.. that is crappy.

I can imagine lots of scams will be pulled on this site.. and don't get me wrong i think what your doing is a good thing.

I can just see the down side where you may think something is spam.. but another person doesn't.

Although i bet if you did a good job lots of people will be glad to upvote you :)

Its really important what you are doing. Steemit has potential and that potential can manifest if these spammers are exposed and dealt with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72