Just Got Two Downvotes for a Post I Never Authored - Just Be Aware!

in #steemit-issues8 years ago (edited)

Hi there fellow community members,

Hope you find this post helpful, if not it still might raise some awareness of this phenomenon that I have just witnessed. The screenshot below shows that a scam post was sent from my account about 3 hours ago meanwhile I was having my dinner away from my lovely laptop.

I am sure you know which one I mean… the lost money ponzi crap. I have know idea how could this happen. Luckily I spotted it and deleted it in time but still, how the hack can someone author a post from my account?

Has any of you experienced such abnormality on Steemit?

I know it is in beta and it can be a bit buggy sometimes but there are some serious account balances out there on the network and this might bothers some.

Best,
Andrew

Sort:  

I've seen that title a ton in the last day. I guess who ever the hacker is wants to ruin steem.

It is not just me then.

what website are you using to view your info like that

click on your profile image in the top right of your page. Change the word "steemit" the url from www.steemit.com/....
to www.steemd.com/....
Just Steemit to steemd. Don't change anything else. Hit Enter :)

You should change the password on your posting key. It was likely compromised.

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17