Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02 - Meatballs Soup with Homemade Noodle From Scratch

For the second round of Steemit Iron-Chef, I am entering this following soup. Today is supposedly the last day of summer for us here in the north. Starting tomorrow temperature will start dropping to below 20 C 😅😅

So to welcoming cold season, we had soup for lunch 😂😂

1504898537276.jpg

As the theme of this week is carrot, the meatballs, noodles and soup have carrots in them!

Let's check out how I prepared them!

Homemade Carrot Noodle (best if you have pasta maker obviously, but if you don't, do as I did below😉)

1504900370065.jpg

1 c semolina
1 c bread blend flour (you can you white bread flour, all purpose flour, white whole wheat flour, whole wheat flour - whichever you have in pantry)
1 tsp Vegeta powder (or just salt)
2 tbsp olive oil
6 baby carrots, puree with 3 tbsp water
3 tbsp lukewarm water

Mix everything and divide into two portions

1505050617467.jpg

Sprinkle your working space generously with semolina.

Take one of the dough and roll it super thin

Slice into long ropes and sprinkle generously with bread blend, roll ropes into a chunk of noodle

Repeat with the other dough

Bring enough water to boil with 2 tbsp water and salt to taste

Drop noodle into boiling water and cook for 5 minutes

Take out noodles with slotted spoon, soak them in cold water for a minute, drain.

'Meatballs'

1504900500384.jpg

10 tbsp tapioca starch
10 tbsp flour
3 tbsp vegan chorizo (optional, if not using, adjust tapioca starch, flour, and seasonings)
1/2 tbsp garlic powder
1/2 tbsp onion powder
1/2 tbsp Vegeta powder
2 tsp mushroom powder
1 green onion, thinly sliced
12 baby carrots puree in 5 tbsp hot water (if not using chorizo, 8-10 carrots in 3 tbsp hot water)

Mix everything in a bowl. You should be able to shape mixture into balls

1505050794101.jpg

Bring enough water to boil with 2 tbsp olive oil and salt to taste

Drop balls and cook for 15-20 minutes. Balls should be floating and cooked through.

Soup

1 L vegetable broth
10 c water
5 dried shiitake mushroom
2 handful dehydrated veggies (carrots, potatoes, celeries - bought them at Bulk Barn)
3 garlic, thinly sliced
1 green onion, thinly sliced
Vegeta powder to taste
Better Than Bouillon - no beef/no chicken base to taste
White pepper powder to taste

1505050541953.jpg

Bring to boil and cook until dehydrated veggies and mushrooms tender

Serve meatballs soup with additional sliced green onion, lime/lemon juice, Indonesian sweet soy sauce (kecap manis), Sriracha Hot sauce and Nori sheet slices.

1504911152921.jpg

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Those carrot noodles look great! I would go straight for the sriracha!

Who doesnt like sriracha huh @jeffjagoe 😂😂

Thanks!

I'm a big fan of spicy sauces and sriracha... if you have a Trader Joes nearby you should stop and grab a bottle of their Green Dragon sauce! SOOO good on EVERYTHING!

My husband, my 3 yo son and I, we loooooveees spicy food and sauces! Too bad to Traders Joe here, you are so lucky! So many goodies at Traders Joe! I will look up that green dragon sauce. We've recently found el yucateco sauce and we have been adding it to any meals 😂😂😂😂😂

I haven't heard of el yucateco sauce but I just searched for it and I see there are a few different flavors, looks like the good stuff to me! I might buy a bottle on Amazon haha

PS.... Green Dragon on Amazon.... https://www.amazon.com/Trader-Joes-Green-Dragon-Sauce/dp/B014E037TM

Yaaaaaaassss get a couple!! They are good!!! The red is my faved, but my husband likes the regular brown one.

Thanks for the link!!

Nice recipe and a great way to make the noodles if you don't have a pasta maker. I'll try this too. Though when we move back to Kampot in 2 months I'm going to ask my friend how to make noodles.... he doesn't use a pasta maker but swings and turns the dough around until he has noodles... interesting. have a lovely day ;)

Thanks @amy-goodrich

Aaah a real traditional way noodle maker! How exciting!! Gotta make the video when he teaches you and share it with us! Would be interesting to watch. I've only seen such from documentaries on Netflix and YouTube 😂

He is a good friend and does workshops sometimes... can't wait to move back there and get some training by the master himself.

That's gonna awesome for sure @amy-goodrich !

Itu mirip cilok ya mbak bakso wortelnya. Duh, enak bgt ni dingin2 makan yg berkuah2 gitu.

Iyo kuwi cilok jeng 😉 @ikaputri3

Hey that looks nice, you always make a full meal!! Hehe

Family of four, with 3 fussy boys here 😂😂😂 ways have to make meals appealing to them 😂😂

Gracias!!

Great dish! I like your carrot noodles. And the shiitake mushroom would add so much umami flavor to the broth.

Thanks Chef!!

A real chef I see, wow. Following you!

Me like, me like! This looks like a super delicious recipe :)

Thanks @mitchiesfoodrace ! I especially love the soup/broth as I can have it as is, with rice, tofu, and/or for any other type of noodles!

love this, great idea with the carrot noodles

And here comes @thekitchenfairy again! You gave me some great idea with this entry my friend! The pasta is surely on my to do list!
It's amazing to see that the food you propose seems familiar to my country... infact every saturday I normally eat meatballs in broth like that with some hot sauce! So yummy!
Good luck my friend!

Ooh do share your recipes please!

And many thanks @progressivechef !

Your soup looks really good! So many different elements that work well together. Great creation @thekitchenfairy!

Nothing compares to yours!!! Your creamsicle is superb!! 👍👍👍👍

Thanks for the kind words @thekitchenfairy! :)

Homemade noodles are the best!!! =D Those carrot balls sound delish too =) A hearty meal for your family, no doubt!

All the best to us this round, babe! =))

Danke @foodie.warrior ! But holy moly, no one can compete to your creations as always 👍👍👍👍

Apparently, all of you can and do! hurhur =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34