You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 01 : Wild Chopped Salad with Olives, Gingko Nuts, Bittercress and Jerusalem Artichokes

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago

Beautiful dish that I would love to try.... But, it would probably be too green for me..... I haven't ever eaten the Gingko Nuts. These look tasty! It's good that you plant the Cherry tomatoes in your garden, I love this one, too! ;)

Good luck for the Steemit Ironchef contest! ;))

Sort:  

I wondered whether you ever ate Gingko nuts, @tangmo. I have read that they have a long history of being eaten in Asia. The Wikipedia entry shows a picture that says "Gingko seeds served with boiled coconut flesh in Thailand". Maybe they are called something else in your area. It may be too hot for the trees to grow in Thailand. So maybe they are imported.

I found an article on Thai food and travel that says:

Gingko nuts have made their way into a few Thai sweet snacks and desserts, which are adapted from the Chinese. One such dessert, called Oni Pae Guay (using the same Chinese name of a common Chinese dessert), is often on the dessert menu of many large Thai restaurants. It takes the form of a creamy, smooth and sweet, mashed taro paste (but less sweet than the Chinese version), topped with slices of cooked Chinese red dates and a few gingko nuts, with the added Thai touch of a salty-sweet coconut cream sauce.

So I wonder if you see it at any restaurants? I think you would like the desserts with the Gingko nuts! I will try to make something. I have a lot of these nuts!

Oh! So sorry for my misunderstanding! But, I think the Gingko nuts in your photos are something that are different from the ones here. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66392.28
ETH 3318.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69