Steemit-Ironchef Round 3 ~ Still live with two jars and a cucumber 🥒

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

My this week's contribution to the #steemit-ironchef challenge caused me a little bit of headaches. I know this might be the case only for my neck of the woods but cucumbers are simply not in season right now. If you buy them they are not only expensive, come from elsewhere and are wrapped in a ridiculous amount of plastic they don't even taste good! I know that's not visible but my aim is always to create something that we really enjoy to eat. The cause is - even if my entry finishes in one of the lower positions - we still eat a delicious, beautiful and satisfying meal! 😋

Alright. Enough of the rant. That's only my issue. Lets have fun and make the best out of it! 🥒🥒🥒🥒🥒

I would like to thank @progressivechef for hosting this contest and to @canadian-coconut, @donkeypong, @trophytokens, @voiceshares and @bambam808 supporting this challenge. This is the link to the actual post with all the rules and stuff: STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 03.

A typical german - I think 80ies Style - party dish is the so called "Schichtsalat", a salad where the different ingredients are filled into a glas bowl layer by layer ... made of things like celery, cooked ham, hard boiled eggs, leek, apples, canned pineapples, cannend corn and topped with shredd cheese ... like I said: very 80ies style food.

Because I didn't trust the taste of the cucumber - it was italian, unwrapped and looked very appealing though - I thought to combine different tastes and textures. That's why I've taken a little inspiration by the old fashioned "Schichtsalat".

Ingredients:

  • one small cucumber 
  • half an apple 
  • a carrot 
  • four slices Pumpernickel bread
  • a cup of sunflower seeds 
  • two cups of soyghurt
  • lemonjuice
  • nutritional yeast
  • dill
  • salt and pepper 

Preparation:

I wanted to make a plantal cream cheese on the base of sunflower seeds and soyghurt. I let the sunflower seeds soak in warm water for a few hours.

I crumbled the Pumpernickel bread and fried them in a plantbased butter in a hot pan until crispy. Stir occasionally. It takes some time because the Pumpernickel is very moist in texture. Don't forget about it and burn it!! 

I drained the sunflower seeds, filled them in my mixer and mixed together with the soyghurt, some nutritional yeast, lemon juice and dried garlic until creamy. I stired in the dill and seasoned with salt and pepper.

Often when you need lemon juice, you just need a little bit but the lemon is cut open and starts to dry out or absorbs some smells of your fridge. This is a simple and practical way to keep it fresh ...

I cut the carrot into very small cubes, halved the cucumber and removed the seeds.

I cut it into cubes and the apple into fine sticks.

Then I filled layers of the ingredients into two whiskey glasses starting with a crispy layer of the hearty and kind of sweet all the same time Pumpernickel crumps, followed by the cucumber cubes and cream cheese, then carrots, then apples, Pumpernickel again, cream cheese ... ... 😴 ... 

I have been a bit suspicious as to whether this entire creation would really taste good. But sometimes if your expectations are low you get surprised in a very positive way. It was delicious! I loved the combination of the crispy veggies, the creaminess of the cheezy sauce and the crunchy aromatic bread crumbs. It might not be my most beautiful creation but the taste and the texture was great! The hubby left it for the next day for lunch. Then the crumbs soaked a lot of liquid and weren't crunchy anymore what he liked better.

Thank you for reading my post. I hope I could inspire one or other to follow my recipe or create one own similar. 

Good luck to all of the other contestants! ☀️

Sort:  

This looks delicious @pusteblume I would love to have a taste. If you have some time today I would love to have your opinion on my homecooked meals. Thank you and keep up your great work. Steem On!

All right! Going to check your posts later ... have a nice day!

Oh this is so beautiful my friend! All the ingredients you put in this jar match perfectly and must be wonderful for the palate! So fresh and light!
Beautiful entry as usual!

Thank you so much, Chef! 😄 I wasn't so sure about some of the ingredients but the combination made it. I really enjoyed eating it.

Neat lemon trick. And as always the food looks so good! Don't know why you were doubting its taste ;) Good luck! Need to join in again too. Been so long since I cooked something for SIC.

Yeah! Don't know! It was really good in the end! 😋

I will have to ask my boyfriend who is actually German to make me this dish, it looks yummy!

But can you buy Pumpernickel where you life? If not, replace it with any whole grain - the wholest 😜 you get - bread. Works as good as the Pumpernickel.

That looks delicious and colorful. I will try to make. It. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

Tell me how you liked it!

Nice Dish !

Thank you! 🤗

This looks so tasty! Seems like the perfect mixture of ingredients to get that umami taste :) Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe and good luck in the competition!

Thank you! So nice of you to say!

It may be 80's style, but you've pulled together a great dish here! I love your lemon trick too, i will definitely be using it!

Hehe! Thank you! I refreshed it a little bit. I guess nobody in the 80ies has ever heard of vegan cream cheese, don't you think? 😜 I thank you again for your support and your kind words!

Very different and interesting dish @pusteblume - as a matter of interest what did you do with the seeds of the cucumber ?

It was just a moist and slimy something, didn't taste good. I threw it into a smoothie where it disappeared visually and in taste behind the other ingredients!

Looks delicious and it's so healthy too! 🌱💪 I can't get soy yoghurt where I live. 😢 Any idea of what I can substitute for it?

You actually don't need it urgently to make vegan cream cheese. You can make it simply from nuts like almonds, cashews and now I tried the sunflower seeds. Just add a little bit more water and lemon juice until you get the texture you like. The soyghurt is optional. You can skip it. Actually I'd prefer lupine yoghurt but I don't get it anymore where I bought it before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59926.69
ETH 2622.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38