STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 02 Round 11 ~ Savoury Truffle Potato Tartelets with Chanterelles or German Sauerkraut 😋

The first that came to my mind when the new theme was out was a fruity dessert tartlets. That seems to be the most obvious. But tartes can be sweet or savoury and I had a few desserts in the last few rounds. I needed something savory so I decided to make something that would fit for dinner or for a buffet at a party.

I recently discovered the beautiful color of a purple sweet potato. That was so fascinating I wanted to create a few dishes that celebrates this amazing color. The idea I had, was to make a dough made of purple sweet potato as the main ingredient. The recipe was ready in my head. But I couldn't find some anywhere in town. And all the other sweet potatoes that where available came from the US and my goal is to buy local preferred.

When I found these pretty dark french purple truffle potatoes I changed my mind and adapted the recipe. For the filling I wanted some chanterelles because they are in season now and they are one of my favorite mushrooms. And because I had some fresh Sauerkraut in my fridge and I wanted some variety I planned to use this for the filling as well.

These were all the ingredients for the tartlets dough:

  • purple truffle potatoes (I had around 460g)
  • 80g polenta semolina
  • one tablespoon of soy flour 
  • three tablespoons of a plantbased milk (I mostly use oats milk)
  • half a teaspoon of salt

Preparation:

I washed the potatoes carefully and shredded them with its skin on a very fine grater. I mixed the potatoes with the remaining ingredients.

Because I don't have tartlet mold and I didn't want to buy some (I need to be sustainable with the space in my kitchen cabinets and with things I think I need to buy and then never use them again. Then it's a waste of resources and money - at least in my eyes) - I covered the molds of a muffin tray with vegetable oil and filled in the dough.

I baked it in the preheated oven (180 degrees Celsius) for 25 minutes. I recommend to cover the bottom of the molds with little discs of baking paper because I had some trouble to remove the baked dough from the form. I let them cool down andd prepared the filling ...

Ingredients for the filling:

  • a cup of sunflower seeds soaked in boiling water
  • a tablespoon of nutritional yeast 
  • some lemon juice 
  • some garlic powder
  • salt
  • two teaspoons of a vegan mayonnaise 
  • 200ml of oats cream
  • 100g of chanterelles 
  • some cherry tomatoes 
  • some fresh Sauerkraut 
  • a carrot 
  • some dried thyme 
  • salt and pepper 

Preparation:

I drained the soaked sunflower seeds and mixed them in my blender with the oats cream, the nutritional yeast, lemon juice, garlic powder and the salt until smooth and creamy.

I fried the chanterelles in a pan with some vegetable oil and seasoned them with fresh ground pepper, salt and smoked salt. I chopped the Sauerkraut and cut the peeled carrot in slices.

I put a teaspoon of the cheesy sauce on the bottom of the dough and filled half of the tartlets with chanterelles and halved cherry tomatoes and the other half of the tartlets wit Sauerkraut, dried thyme and carrot slices. Then I covered the veggies with two or three more tablespoons of the cheese sauce and set it in the preheated oven (180 degrees Celsius) for another 20 minutes.

I served my tartelets with a salad of green and yellow beans and tomatoes.

I love green beans and the smell of them cooking in salt water together with savory. 

I mixed the hot beans with a very fine chopped red onion to use the remaining heat of the beans to kind of gentle cook the onions as well. I don't like raw onions so much.

I stirred in some quarterd small tomatoes, some capers, olive oil, fresh pressed lemon juice and salt and fresh ground pepper. Yummy!

This is how I served the whole dish. Besides the fact that the color of the dough turned into a dark bread brown and lost its beautiful purple (I believe the purple sweet potato would have kept it) everything was very delicious and satisfying. We didn't leave a crumb. Nor a bean ... 😉

Now I am curious what everyone else made for this week's topic ... Going to check their contributions. 🏃🏼‍♀️

Have a wonderful Friday everyone and a beautiful weekend! ☀️

Sort:  

I was struggling between sweet or savory and my sweet tooth got the better of me but I just love your savoury tartlets, have never seen truffle potato! I would have loved to be at your dinner table :)

It would be nice to have you for dinner another day! Tell me if you have plans to travel direction north ...

Oh my,my. You really outdid yourself here. I too thought about a dinner tart, but my heart kept whispering, chocolate lol This looks amazing! I love the purple potato, beautiful orange and green veggies, I bet it tasted wonderful. Well done my dear :)

Thank you my dear! Unfortunately the purple wasn't visible anymore after baking ... 😝

Looks good! I wonder how it tastes? It's the first time I've seen or heard of chanterelles mushroom. And the purple truffle potatoes reminded me of purple yams. I bet this tart tastes really good :)

Chanterelles are a typical summer mushroom in Middle Europe. It grows wild in the woods of Bavaria, Czech Republic and Poland. I don't know where else it is endemic. It's a bit like an oyster mushroom but I love it much more - maybe because it's season is much shorter.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-16T21:15:33
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 788.68/800.00
Total Photos: 87
Total comments: 56
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 2.46 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You got a 4.13% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @pusteblume!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79