STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 02 Round 07 ~ Dessert plate of a chocolicious brownie accompanied by some fresh cucumber-lime and beetroot-raspberry sorbet

Hehehe! I don't think I delivered a Three Star Michelin Plating here but it was more delicious than I thought it would. Usually when you order a dessert you don't expect to get something healthy. It has to meet your sweet tooth and complete your menu appropriately. When I think about the ingredients I used my dessert could count almost as healthy. It's very low in sugar but packed with healthy stuff.  The job @progressivechef gave us for this round wasn't the easiest: make a dessert using common vegetables. Hmmm. 🤔 Tricky! Read his full post here to learn about all the rules: STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 02 Round 07 : Contest now OPEN!!!

I was a little short on time because the following week is so full of other appointments. So I had to decide quickly what to serve ... 😉

The last couple of days were so hot and summerly and that made me think of ice cream or so. A refreshing granita or sorbet would be nice! And because I am chocolate addict I wanted something chocolicious as well. The vegetables I choose were: red beetroot, cucumber, gourgette (zucchini) and sweet potatoe. Other ingredients are raspberries, an apple, a lime, fresh basil, raisins, walnuts and sunflower seeds, oats and cacao powder.

The very green Cucumber-Lime-Basil-Sorbet 

I chopped two small cucumbers and an green summer apple in rough pieces, grated the peel of the lime, pressed out the lime juice and mixed everything together with some fresh lemon balm leaves and some elderflower sirup for a slight sweetness in my blender, stirred some fresh basil leaves (chopped in fine stripes) into the mixture and set it in the freezer.

The purple red Beetroot-Raspberry-Sorbet 

I covered a half a cup of raisins with hot water and let it soak for a while. I chopped two small young beetroots into pieces and mixed them carefully together with the raspberries (two cups), and a tablespoons of powdered berries smoothie mixand the soaked raisins, added a little bit more water because it was too thick and didn't mix well and set this mixture also into the freezer.

Freeze both mixtures for several hours but make sure to stir them carefully with a fork every now and then to break the ice crystals because we want a smooth sorbet and not two iceblocks. 

The Brownie:

I covered a cup of raisins with water and let them soak for at least one hour. I shredded one sweet potato and one gourgette with a very fine grater and shredded one cup of oat flakes and two tablespoons of flaxseeds in my blender. I mixed the soaked and drained raisins with 100ml of plant milk (flax milk in my case). I mixed everything with three tablespoons of cacao powder, one cup of coconut oil, one teaspoon of baking powder and half a teaspoon of baking soda and some sunflower seeds and walnuts.

I filled everything in a form covered with baking paper and let it bake for 25 minutes in the preheated (180 degrees Celsius). For the topping I melt a bar of the best vegan chocolates I ever found. I love dark bitter chocolate that come without milk anyway but I always loved the sweeter milk chocolates too. But most of the vegan ricemilk versions are too sweet for me and the taste is well - different.

All the vegan chocolates from this company (Frankonia) are delicious. And the good thing is they are from this region too (Veitshhöchheim - just a few kilometers away from Würzburg).

It's time to finally enjoy the plate because the sorbet is starting to melt away ... 😋

I think this was the most delicious healthy and guilt free dessert I ever had in my entire live. I guess the sorbets would work well as an intermediate course because they were just slightly sweet. 

Now I am really curious about my fellow #steemit-ironchef foodies' contributions. Are there any online yet? 😃 I am going to check on them now ...

Have a delicious dessert time and a wonderful week everyone! ☀️

Sort:  

This is the type of dessert that kills you the craving in those moments where it causes you some candy. Oh, raspberry! I love it, it goes without saying that it's delicious.

Hehe! 😃 Then my goal is achieved! Thank you a lot!

All looks so delicious. You are amazing

Thank you, my dear friend! It was very good!

Hot brownie and cold sorbet, combination match in heaven !!

It really was heavenly! Thank you so much!

Ur welcome😊

@progressivechef really is challenging us, yours looks amazing, love the colours and flavours too!

But it's a good thing! He's bringing out the best in us!

lecker, lecker lecker!

Wow @pusteblume look divine and so yummy! Had exactly the same ideas with sorbets! Luckily slightly different! And your recipe is so much exciting I do have to try it out! Love light and blessings ♥♥♥

😃 Really?! Let me check ...
Indeed! Yours sounds delicious too! Carrots are always a good option for sweet recipes.
Thank you!

Such an amazing creation - you totally crushed it with this one!

I wish you all the best for the challenge 😉

Oh thank you! As I looked at it now, I realized that half of it is actually raw ... 😃

I know, pretty cool, right? 😁 I noticed it right away and was super happy about it 💚

Very healthy very tasty yummy... looks colorful too thanks for sharing the recipe dear

I am very happy that you like it!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-17T22:45:30
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 769.18/800.00
Total Photos: 84
Total comments: 56
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 2.28 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90