Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #05 : Stuffed Roasted Pear with Salted Butter!!!

Greetings lovely people of the world of Steemit!

For the 5th round of the Steemit Iron Chef, I am glad to share my usual non-valid entry to you all. This week the contestants got the PEAR to work on and elevate in any way they wish to.
I wanted to make a dessert with the pear at first, but then I hesitated as I felt I will be discovering quite a lot of desserts surely from the contestants...that's why I finally decided to go on a warm starter!

So let's continue reading the post and discover my entry!

Stuffed Roasted Pear with Salted Butter
DSC_0030.JPG


These were the 2 pears i used to make my plate!
I used the brown one to roast and the green one for making a salad.

DSC_0014.JPG


I peeled bot of them and the brown one really looked so nicely shaped and perfect for whole cooking!

DSC_0015.JPG


Add some salted butter to a pan with some cardamom, cinnamon stick, bay leave and cloves!
Then add the whole brown pear and let it cook slowly!
This can take a lot of time and really need a lot of patience!

DSC_0018.JPG


After cooking for nearly 45 minutes on a very low temperature and delicately turning the pear each now and then, I got this lovely result!
A nicely caramelized pear! So beautiful!
You can also roast it in the oven...but the results are better in the pan!!

DSC_0020.JPG


To make the pear salad, I cut the green pear and added dates, onion, mint leaves, raw butternut, radish, olive oil and lemon juice.
Season with salt and pepper!

DSC_0022.JPG


I cut the roasted pear in half and scooped out some flesh in order to be able to stuff it with the salad!

DSC_0024.JPG


Add the fresh pear salad in the roasted pear and close it back!

DSC_0025.JPG


To add a mild spicy note to this dish, i make small incisions around the pear and put some slices of radish to make it look like a flower!

DSC_0027.JPG


I had the crazy idea of adding watercress to this salad...and I wanted mainly the branches not the leaves!
So I cut them like this...It looked really nice and I was sure it will look very beautiful on the final plate!

DSC_0023.JPG


For the platting, it was really freestyle...
I put some more of the pear salad to start!

DSC_0029.JPG


And completed by adding the rest of the preparations!

DSC_0030.JPG


Drizzle this plate with a lovely lemon dressing or even a balsamic one and I am sure you'll enjoy it so much!

DSC_0036.JPG


Without forgetting the so important proof photo...

DSC_0038.JPG


So here we are my dear friend, if I was eligible in this contest, this would have been my entry for week 5!

How did you find the dish?

I hope this post helps all those wishing to join the contest and get an idea of how to make your entries.
I have respected all the rules to give an example of how your entry will be validated!

IMPORTANT NOTE

The SBD made on all my posts moving forward will be used for sponsoring the Steemit Iron Chef 2017!

Anyone wishing to grow the prizes and be a sponsor of this unique contest, please do let me know!
You are most welcomed!

Thank you!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

Looks awesome! Fruit salad inside of a fruit. I bet it's delicious

Thanks so much my friend! I confirm...it was really so tasty!

Wow, that looks amazing!

Thanks so much my friend! I hope you liked it!

Ah, the pear. Loving the look of this caramelized pear of yours, yum! Reminds me of a story by Yann Martel (writer of Life of Pi), called Beatrice and Virgil. When Beatrice asks what a pear tastes like, Virgil's answer is this:

“The taste of a good pear is such that when you eat one, when your teeth sink into the bliss of one, it becomes a wholly engrossing activity. You want to do nothing else but eat your pear. You would rather sit than stand. You would rather be alone than in company. You would rather have silence than music. All your senses but taste fall inactive. You see nothing, you hear nothing, you feel nothing—or only as it helps you to appreciate the divine taste of your pear.”

that's a pretty quote!

I agree! And it goes on and on like this, so beautifully, as one character describes the pear to the other. Next, Beatrice says something like: "Yeah, but what does the pear actually taste like?" And of course, Virgil says it tastes like a pear. Nothing else tastes quite like a pear. :)

What a lovely quote my friend! Thanks so much for sharing these lovely words on the amazing pear!
I love pears so much!

Beautiful and inspiring dish !

Thank you my friend! You are always so supportive!

now that is a tasty looking piece of art!

Hey my friend, what a pleasure to read from you! Been very busy and now I am catching up on my replies!
Thanks so much for the lovely comment!

C'est magnigique, je suis en train de préparer mon post et je fais la recette demain !

beautiful idea! I love your combination of flavors in here!

While clearly this dish took care and attention to prepare, it has a clarity and simplicity that's very appealing. It's seasonal and beautiful. Thank you for sharing it. I'm buying pears next trip to the grocer. I wonder how apples would do? I might try that too.

Apples will work perfectly too my friend! Just try it out. Thanks so much for appreciating my work!

Eye candy! Your caramelized pear is outstanding chef!

Thank you so much my friend! It really took me some long minutes of patience making it! But the final result is def worth it!

Thanks so much my friend, got to be more and more creative these days as you guys are producing amazing plates each week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74