Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02 : Carrots Mania!!!

Hello my lovely Steemian!

As you know, as I am the Steemit Iron Chef organizer, I am not eligible to participate in the contest! That's really sad for me, but on the other hand I am very happy to be supporting all these wonderful foodies who are participating and sending amazing entries each week!

But this does not stop me from sending an entry , even it will be a non-valid one! So here I am with my non-valid entry for week 2 of Steemit Iron Chef 2017!

We are in the second week of the contest and the second product that we have to transform is another commonly used product in all kitchens of the world :

CARROTS

So let's check out how I sublimated/transformed/elevated this wonderful product!


Carrots Mania!!!
DSC_0147.JPG


It's a shame that in Mauritius we only have the orange carrots and hence I had to do my dish around this variety only!
So I started by cleaning and cutting the carrots in different sizes for the different preps that I have planned!
I kept the peel too which I dried up to make a crumble with!

DSC_0121.JPG


I firstly put the peel in the oven and let it dry till crispy.
Then crush it with my hand to have a crumble like texture.
This is how it was after drying up!

DSC_0134 (2).JPG


Then I deep fried the julienne again till crispy, make sure to control the temperature as it can turn black quickly!

DSC_0126.JPG


This is the fried carrots julienne! Simply season lightly with salt and reserve!

DSC_0131.JPG


With the bits and pieces of the remaining carrots, I made a cream!
Simply put it in little water with cardamom, coriander seeds, onion and garlic, let cook till tender.
Blend till a nice semi-smooth texture!
As the carrots taste was just lovely, i simply season with just some salt.

DSC_0124.JPG


And the whole carrots, I steamed them till tender.

DSC_0133.JPG


Once well steamed and tender, glaze the carrots with a yogurt-mint-olive oil and salt mixture!

DSC_0136.JPG


Now that all the preps are over, gather all of them!

  • Carrots crumble
  • Carrots cream
  • Crispy carrots julienne
  • Glazed carrots
  • Gherkins
  • Olives
  • Onion
  • Lettuce
  • Mint leaves
  • Tomato

DSC_0140.JPG


I started my plate by putting the cream first as you can see below!

DSC_0142.JPG


I put the carrots crumble on the whole glazed carrots to give it a nice look and also bring a crispy texture to it!

DSC_0143.JPG


Place the carrots delicately on the sauce!
And finish off by adding the rest of the ingredients...don't forget always with LOVE!!!

DSC_0146.JPG


And here you are with the final dish!

DSC_0148.JPG


Let's have a closer shot!

DSC_0149.JPG


The addition of gherkins and olives is mainly to bring that touch of acidity to the dish!
It was just amazingly super delicious and very light! I simply loved it!

DSC_0150.JPG


Even as a non-valid entry...I did not forget the proof photo! Lol!
This is really very important to valid your entry my friends! Please always remember to do this!

DSC_0161.JPG


So here we are my dear friend, if I was eligible in this contest, this would have been my entry for week 2!

How do you find the dish?

I hope this post help all those wishing to join the contest and get an idea of how to make your entries.
I have respected all the rules to give an example of how your entry will be validated!

IMPORTANT NOTE

The SBD made on all my posts moving forward will be used for sponsoring the Steemit Iron Chef 2017!

Anyone wishing to grow the prizes and be a sponsor of this unique contest, please do let me know! You are most welcomed!

You wish to join and participate?
Check out @steemit-ironchef or follow this link to send your entry!

Thank you!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

Wow I did not realize that you can fry carrots, almost like bacon, That is too cool. Thank you. Really should have gone to culinary school, lol I just love to cook that is why I grow most of all my own food. Thanks for your invalid submission lol We all can benefit from your talent. Upvoted

Oh yes my friend, crispy carrots are so tasty, you should try it! Especially with your homegrown ones...wow they will be just heavenly!
I really wish I had some place to do my own vegetables! Not a problem even you did not make it to the hotel school, I am sure you all will benefit a lot with my posts, and anytime you need any advice, just ask me, i'll be happy to guide and help!
hahaha! I will everytime send my invalid entry ...just for fun!

Thank my friend. Will call on you. I do use carrots from my garden!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechef from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Beautiful presentation, so unique!

Thanks so much @annhoyblog! I'm very glad that you enjoyed my dish!

Jeesh! Now that looks tasty. How did you create such a lovely swirl? With a squeeze tube?

Oh thanks so much for such a beautiful compliment @wildfamily! Oh no I did not use squeeze tube for this, I used the back of a coffee spoon and just made the circular movement to get this lovely swirl!
You can do it too, but your cream need to have the perfect texture!

Oh I see! Yes, I can imagine how that might work. Looks so pretty. I'm going to steal that idea and see if it works to hypnotize our kids into eating their greens. ;)

This could be really very fun for the kids, especially with the greens! hahaha! Hypnotizing them with this swirl! Cool!

So much texture, and artistry. This surely tickles the taste buds along with the other sense too: appetizing the eyes, crackling in the ears... Works well too for the #TuesdayOrange #colorchallenge #photography.

That's another wonderful compliment my friend! I did one more two days back, and it was complete orange. Do check it out you'll love it i'm sure!
Do you know i have not yet printed those lovely tags you sent. I have to find time and do that tomorrow!

Love the fried julienne carrots. Looks amazing and that cream sauce sound really nice.

Oh yes the cream sauce with the cardamom infused in it was just awesome!

AJ picked your post @progressivechef for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Oh wow! I'm always so happy to see you here my friend! Thanks so much for the feature again!
Cheers
@progressivechef

I am happy to be at the right place

Wow, very impressive. I didn't know you could do so much with carrots.
I've also resteemed the post and hopefully more people can see it and enter. :)

And we can do a lot more with them...Working on a particular product and explore all the things we can do with it is really very a great passion for me!
Thanks so much for the re-steem bro! Really appreciate!

You're welcome bro. :)

I love how you put the carrot cream on the plate. It looks like it is painted on. Really eye catching. I'm definitely going to steal your carrot crumble! That would be good as a crunchy topping for a steamed or poached fish.

That would be perfect chef on a steamed or poached fish! I love using all types of peels actually, they are really tasty when dried.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94