💛 Steemit Iron Chef 2017 - #02 - Asian Coleslaw 💛steemCreated with Sketch.

FullSizeRender.jpg

This is the second round of @progressivechef's #Steemit-ironchef. This week's theme is the humble CARROT. I am reallly enjoying these challenges, and really am trying to only use my own original recipes. This is my favourite salad to serve at barbeques, and with my Jerk Chicken


I invented this Asian inspired coleslaw when @morkrock and I were running a restaurant a few years ago. This was a side for the tacos and burgers that were on the menu.


INGREDIENTS

  • 1,5 cups mayonnaise
  • 4 medium carrots, peeled
  • 1/2 small red cabbage
  • 250g salted peanuts
  • bunch coriander
  • 2 T garam masala curry powder
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 1 t sesame seed oil
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 T brown sugar

IMG_2678.JPG

METHOD

In a small bowl, mix the mayo with the sesame seed oil, soy sauce, garam masala, cinnamon and brown sugar. This will all come down to personal taste, but i like to this dressing to have a sweet, nutty, aromatic flavour.

IMG_2681.JPGIMG_2682.JPG

Chop the coriander very finely, then grate the carrots and slice up the red cabbage. Combine in your serving bowl and dress with a bit of mayo. Add your peanuts and a squeeze of lemon.

IMG_2686.JPG

Enjoy this delicious salad, and please let me know if you try it!

IMG_2688.JPG

Check out the other entries under #steemit-ironchef

💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💜💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💜

Come join me on http://steemspeak.com, where we speak about everything from crypto to hemorrhoids


follow @princessmewmew

Sort:  

Yesss! @princessmewmew is here again! Wow I never knew that you used to run a restaurant before, that's nice my friend!
Lovely take on the coleslaw here with the sesame oil, soy sauce, garam masala, cinnamon and brown sugar added in the mayo!
I used to add sesame oil and wasabi in mayo in the past!
Thanks so much for entering again in steemit iron chef!
@progressivechef

Ooh, gurl I love wasabi, sounds like a great combo!

I'm reallly enjoying the challenge! Thank you for inviting me x

I knew you were a pro cook!! =D

This is so colourful..garam masala curry powder, brown sugar, and cinnamon in your sauce..I have to like this one just for that cool combo alone =P

Hehehe! I try. Definitely not a PRO

Yes, the crumbly, crunchy brown sugar adds a lovely texture and sweetness to an otherwise quite acidic dressing. The warm roundness of the garam masala loves the sugar too :)

Thank you for your vote!

'The warm roundness of the garam masala loves the sugar'

That's so poetic!! I love how you describe it! =DD It's a pleasure to vote for your beautiful creation <3

Ah you are so kind! Hopefully I can convey my passion for food with my passion for language 💓

Looks delicious! I love a good spicy jerk chicken and I could see this being the perfect compliment.

They do together well! 😊Thanks for checking out my post

Epic slaw, I though this was like a Pew Pew secret?

Nah. Sharing is caring 🌸

You and hubby were running a restaurant back in the day?

I knew there was a reason why your food was out of this world! Friggen cheater! Hahahaha

I'm upvoting this article due to the pure awesome-sauce

( Look I used a pun. Aren't I clever ;P )

You are so clever! Yes, in Woodstock. We had a little diner style place

Why have I never had this? Thought we were close?

Because you are lactose intolerant dumb dumb

Looks delicious - you got my vote!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princessmewmew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Looks absolutely delicious... your photos are stunning... will have to try it !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62630.85
ETH 2463.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61