Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 1 Round 4 - Lettuce Salad Boat

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)


salad with lettuce, tomato, parsley, avocado and olives

Today I had so much inspiration from other Steemians

Everyone who would like to join should read @progressiveschef original set of rules

This week's theme is lettuce

Lettuce.jpeg

Lettuce2 .jpeg

and I opened one of the most perfect avocado's that I have ever seen

Sprinkled with crushed pink himalayan salt and some black ground pepper with some lemon juice

That was an irresistible start to my salad and half of it was eaten by me before using the other half in my lettuce boat.

@offoodandart and @chefsteve have been talking about how often we see someone else's recipe and think that we'd like to try it out and sometimes we in fact do. So anyone else wants to adapt someone else's recipe just use the myturn tag - will be a lot of fun if your recipe has inspired someone else.

IMAGE 2018-02-08 00:18:53.jpg

Tonight I was inspired by a beautiful post by @pusteblume where she served a salad in a lettuce bowl. I had a different type of lettuce but decided that I would make my salad in the lettuce leaf boat - and again I was inspired by @leelektrik when he made his cucumber boats last week.

My salad was with my typical greek salad ingredient minus the feta cheese - instead I used tzadziki - which is cucumber grated and drained and then add yogurt and garlic. Season with salt and pepper. Makes a wonderful dip, side dish or blends well with a burger or wrap. Tzadziki served on the side and rice cooked with tomatoes.

Here's hoping you feel inspired

smallpanda (9).jpg

Sort:  

Hmm love lettuce boats. Good luck!

My dear lady, how delicious your recipe and the presentation of your impeccable dish.
You know I remember that when I buy lettuces with large leaves I use them as my corn tortilla to eat a delicious taco without a tortilla especially at night when I try not to eat carbohydrates
Again, many congratulations @pandamama
Have a beautiful night

Thank you for your comment and idea for a corn tortilla @gladysstillwagon

I like how you were inspired by other people and then did your version. I believe that is how a lot of great artwork happens. Your dish looks so tasty and healthful. But, if I ever come to visit I will need a larger portion!

Yes, @chefsteve - this was a tiny portion and you'll definitely get a man-sized portion if you come to my table. Thanks for the comments. Always appreciate your input

looks lovely and sounds delicious

That looks delicious mmm! I'm hungry now! Well done @pandamama

Thanks for stopping by @edenmichelle - looking out for another travel blog from you.

Nice twist by using tzadziki instead of feta cheese for your salad. I can imagine how it works well with your Greek salad lettuce boat. Simple salad but full on flavor, texture and satisfaction.

Thanks for the mention! It truly is great when we learn from or get inspired by others.

and you have been one of my greatest inspirations @offoodandart

Thank you! It has been mutual @pandamama!

I like healthy food

I'm starting to really enjoy healthy food now @askmee

Oh good news, keep going And don't give up, you will be strong woman soon CLAP CLAP CLAP 😘

Yes, I am feeling much better these days - thank you @askmee for the encouragement

It is not always that we get this lovely surprise of a perfect avo when we open it...your's is really beautiful and looks so tempting with the black pepper, salt and olive oil!
We all get inspired from someone else and as from there we build our own version! Great idea to come up with the #myturn tag!
I've seen quite some 'boats' recently! Lovely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80