🐼 Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #12 Cauliflower &Onion soup with sambal salad and cauliflower rice

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Once again the theme vegetable for the week - a vegetable that I love. Cauliflower. I decided to make a cauliflower and onion soup because as it starts to get cold now I really enjoy the comfort of a bowl of soup.

image.png
My final plate decorated with some grapefruit slices and cherries

image.png

image.png

Once again my usual Saturday morning visit to the market where my favourite farmer, Mamas, had some cauliflower for me.

image.png

Also to add to my dish, my son's ex girlfriend, who is very health conscious told us to substitute rice with cauliflower. This is so easy to make. The cauliflower is blanched in boiling water and still el dente - and then finely chopped.

image.png

I cooked up a little bit of minced beef to serve with the cauliflower rice

image.png

image.png

So - my soup consisted of a head of cauliflower and one medium sized onion which I put into the slow cooker with a vegetable stock cube. Once the vegetables were tender I pureed in my blender and voila - my soup was ready.

image.png
I added some salt, pepper and some cayenne pepper with a little nutmeg

I cut up a sambal salad consisting of finely diced tomato, yellow pepper, spring onions and chives.

I baked some croutons in a slow oven the night before to serve with the soup.

Once dished up I added a little cream - and before eating I added some of the sambal salad. This was an amazing taste, the hot soup with the raw fresh sambals. Later I had a taste of the soup when it was cold and it was equally delicious.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

My proof photograph
image.png

If you haven't yet, come join @progressivechef's Steemit Iron Chef competition - and be part of the fun! It's never too late to join in and up your game week by week.

This has been a very interesting journey and feel proud to have been a part of it. Great way to make new friends too.

smallpanda (7).jpg

Sort:  

Lovely food photography, very well done! Keep these coming!!

Thank you so much @gringalicious for the compliments and the support

You did it again @pandamama. Your entries always look beautiful and delicious! Great use of sambal too. I truly love the wonderful flavors and textures you put together. Yummmm!

Thank you again for your wonderful words of encouragement @offoodandart - your work has truly inspired me to do better

Amazing photos. Looks delicious! Great content here. Will follow.

Thank you so much @spinx23 for the support

You are very welcome :)

Great job, @pandamama, this one really came out looking (and tasting) amazing!

Thank you @deimus for the wonderful support you have been in this competition and for eating all my samples - and for helping with the photographs

Looks delicious.. love the photos!

Thanks @leelektrik - getting better by the day. Looking forward to your tasting my samples in December

Very proud of you @pandamama for producing such beautiful plates

Thank you @edenmichelle - I'm glad you like my plates @OriginalWorks

Simply amazing!!! What an entry my friend! Looking at your 'cauliflower rice' made me remember something quite similar I was doing some time before, simply mine was called 'cauliflower couscous'!

Thanks so much for such a great post and awesome photography!

Thank you @progressivechef - I am humbled and honoured to have been placed amongst the winners this week. Only got the news now as I was in an all day conference yesterday

Looks wonderful ...lovely rich flavor I can almost taste it ! hihi

Thanks for your tremendous support @globaldoodlegems

This is such a beautiful dish! I especially like the two little fish-shape remikin bowls... XD

Thank you so much @macam.yes - they are very cute little bowls - love them

Tasty and nutritious dish.

Thank you @positivesteem - I sent your last posts to my daughter - we all need to be positive and love ourselves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53