Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02 : Carrot Creamsicle Delight

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Carrots. Five Ways.

Carrot creamsicle, the veggie version of orange creamsicle.

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-18.jpg

Delicious and refreshing, you wouldn't think you're eating veggies. It's a sure way to get kids to eat their carrots.

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-20.jpg

My entry for Steemit Iron Chef #02: Carrot Creamsicle Delight

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-15.jpg

To pay tribute to the ever-popular orange creamsicle, I've chosen to use orange carrots for this dish. So it's just perfect that my friend Jean gave me these beautiful homegrown carrots.

Merci, Jean!

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-4.jpg

The Five Ways

1 - Frozen Carrot Topper

Orange creamsicle has an orange layer that coats the creamy popsicle underneath. In this version, the carrot layer tops the carrot ice cream. I lined a silicone cube tray with a thin layer of sweetened carrot juice then put it in the freezer.

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-5.jpg

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-3.jpg

2 - Carrot Cube Ice Cream

For the ice cream portion of the creamsicle, instead of making it the inner layer, I made it so that it would sit as a solid cube beneath the frozen carrot topper.

Heavy whipping cream, carrot juice, sugar and vanilla are combined.

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-6.jpg

Once the carrot topper is frozen, it is ready for the ice cream layer.

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-8.jpg

Pour carrot-cream mixture into the mold over the frozen carrot topper.

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-9.jpg

3 - Carrot and Pineapple Syrups

Sweetened carrot and pineapple juices are reduced to a syrup. Pineapple syrup not only adds color but it also adds another dimension and flavor profile.

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-1.jpg

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-10.jpg

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-11.jpg

Reduce sweetened carrot juice to a syrup consistency. Do the same with the pineapple juice.

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-14.jpg

4 - Carrot Candy Strips

Carrot strips are cooked in the carrot syrup. They are then dehydrated for 4 hours.

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-12.jpg

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-13.jpg

5 - Carrot Sugar

Some of the dehydrated candied strips are mixed with rock sugar to make carrot sugar.

Unmold ice cream. Plate the five carrot elements. voila!

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-19.jpg

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-17.jpg

Delicious!

It was kinda melting on me as I was taking pictures ... but I assure you, it's delicious!

__________________

Carrot Creamsicle Delight

SteemitIronChef_02_Carrots-21.jpg

Ingredients

Carrot Topper

1/2 cup carrot juice
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar

Carrot Ice Cream

3 cups heavy whipping cream
3/4 cup carrot juice
1/2 cup sugar
1 vanilla pod

Carrot and Pineapple Syrup

1/2 cup carrot juice
2 tablespoons sugar

1/2 cup pineapple juice
1 tablespoon sugar

Candied Carrot Strips

10-15 carrot strips

Carrot Sugar

Dehydrated candied carrot strips
Sugar

Directions

For the carrot topper:

Combine carrot juice and sugar. Pour into silicone mold. Freeze.

For the carrot ice cream:

Combine heavy whipping cream, carrot juice and sugar. Scrape seeds from vanilla pod and mix into cream mixture. Pour over frozen carrot topper layer. Freeze.

For the carrot and pineapple syrups:

Combine sugar and carrot juice in a small pan. Reduce by cooking over low heat until mixture thickens to a syrup. Leave in pan for use with the carrot strips (see next step).

Do the same for the pineapple syrup. Cool then pour into a squeeze bottle.

For the candied carrot strips:

Using a peeler, make 10 - 15 carrot strips. Cook carrot strips in the carrot syrup above for 2 minutes. If syrup is too thick, add a little bit of water. Take the carrot strips from the syrup and lay flat on a parchment paper-lined pan. Dehydrate at low temp for 4 hours or until dry.

Pour remaining carrot syrup in a squeeze bottle.

Assembly:

Line plate with the two types of syrup. Unmold ice cream onto plate. Assemble the rest of the carrot elements. Garnish as desired.

__________________

Happy cooking and eating!

Sort:  

Looks delicious

Once again your photographs are excellent @offoodandart - you really go to a lot of trouble. Your family are lucky

Thanks so much for your continued support @edenmichelle!

You go through a lot of trouble as well with your work. And you are definitely amazing and talented at what you do. Keep them coming!

Ah appreciate that @offoodandart

Beautiful! So well done! Creamsicles are the best and a carrot version is awesome. And adding the pineapple was a great idea!

Thanks @chefsteve!

You and I are on the same page on the pineapple. Had to think hard on what to complement the carrots with. The combination worked so well with the rest of the elements.

Btw, I still would want to go back to Thailand. Hoping next year. If so, I may need your help with some recommendations and tips.

Of course! I would be happy to help with Thailand recommendations. Been going there for about a month per year since 2000 to visit family. I love it there. I want to start doing extended stays there and splitting living between the States and Bangkok.

That's definitely a nice setup. My son goes there often and will leave in October or November for Bangkok. He'll be staying there for 6 months. I'm hoping I can go while he's there.

Anyway, thanks in advance and I'll see you around!

Will definitely try this recipe and let you know @offoodandart

Hi @pandamama! So happy you checked out my post. Now you have a visual of what I told you I was working on. Had a lot of fun with this one and the good thing is that kitchen clean-up is done. Whew!

See you around and thanks for stopping by!

Always a pleasure to see your work @offoodandart

That's so nice! Thank you @pandamama!

Looking forward to some more of your amazing recipes @offoodandart - How are you doing in the competitions?

I think the results will be out tomorrow. Will let you know. But the best part here is that it's been a lot of fun. So many delicious-looking dishes out there!

Wow this is so beautiful!!

Now I know why your name is 'offoodandart'..you are a true food artist...Very well done, dear! =D

Awwww, that's so sweet! Thank you so much @foodie.warrior! I have to say, your creations look beautiful and delicious too!

See you around!

You're welcome dear! And thanks for the return compliment =)

Wow! Wow! Wow! Just perfect my friend! Nothing more to add!
Awesome job done in elevating the carrot theme!
I'm just out of words! This is the level I want all the contestants to reach by the end of the first season of steemit iron chef!

Those are the kindest words! I definitely am learning a lot from the group. Like I said before, this has been a lot of fun, thanks to you! And everyone is nice and supportive.

By the way, I want you to know that I seriously considered entering the same dish for the Steemit Culinary Challenge - Monochrome. And I knew you were the judge. I was going to replace the pineapple sauce and the non-orange garnishes with other orange elements. However, I wasn't sure it was going to be fair to enter it in both so I stuck to my true direction - Steemit Iron Chef.

Looking forward to next week's challenge! Thanks again @progressivechef!

You did the right thing my friend! It would not be so nice to see same entry for 2 contest and moreover I was the judge there too!
Despite being the judge in both contest, i have in fact created 2 recipes for each one, both with carrots as main ingredients but very different!
I'm so glad to see how you are in love with Steemit Iron Chef, thanks so much my friend!
Week 3 is open and i am sure you will come up with a wonderful creation again!

I'm sure it was a tough job judging as there were lots of amazing entries. And I saw the beautiful dishes you prepared for both.

Beets!

Presentation is really good. :)

:) Awwww, thanks so much @zazarina!

I love both pineapple and carrot.....looks delicious thanks for sharing the recipe

Incredible how such simple things look so beautiful and tasty through the right eyes. This is visually delicious!

Thank you @bitcoindata!!! Glad you found my creamsicle delicious! It was really good ... my family enjoyed it!

Thank you I think it's useful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66011.09
ETH 3480.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17