You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 04 : Wilted Wild Lettuce

yum! this foraged lettuce looks absolutely delicious and I'm sure I've seen it many times out there but not felt sure what's edible and what's not. thanks for the inspiration!

Sort:  

Wild lettuce is not the easiest wild plant to identify at a young stage. But once you get it fixed in your mind, it's amazing how common it is. It does get over-mature pretty quickly in warm weather. The Miner's Lettuce is a different story. The mature plants are so distinctive -- there's no confusing it with anything else. And it's still good eating then. I'll have to do a post about it when my local Miner's Lettuce gets more mature.

I love miner's lettuce and hope to get better at identifying wild plants

You are a forager when you know Miner's Lettuce! It's our native 'lettuce' in the western US. I bet you know a lot of plants that are good to eat, from your time in the outdoors. I encourage people to make a list of the plants they already know how to identify, rock solid, no question. Then find out which ones on that list are edible. Include trees in that list, too. I'll be putting some plant posts and quiz contests out over this spring. I bet you recognize more than a few! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88