Steemit Iron Chef 2017: Potato Roses

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0568.JPG

The potato is a wonderful thing. It can be served in so many ways and be delicious. The day I needed to cook for Steemit Iron Chef I somehow ended up eating four different potato dishes without really planning on it. My husband brought me lunch with potatoes in it, I shared some potato wedges with my daughter as a snack, and then I made two potato dishes for dinner.

Let's Make Potato Roses!

Potato roses are a neat and decorative way to serve baked or fried potatoes. The process of making potato roses is fairly simple and is a great addition for dinner parties or to spruce up a boring plate.

The first step is to wash and peel some potatoes and slice them thin.

IMG_0542.JPG

IMG_0546.JPG

Take a moment to cut your finger open...because @marxrab has never cut potatoes without slicing open a finger....NEVER...pictures omitted but can be release upon request. :)

The next step to to take one slice and roll it up for the center of the rose. Then take slice after slice and wrap it around the center to form the petals of the rose. This can be a bit tricky. The potatoes are slippery. If you have toothpicks you can use those to keep things in place. I use a bit of foil to make a cup in my hand and to hold it.
IMG_0547.JPG

Put your flowers in a muffin tin. The only one I could find was for mini cakes but it's pretty much the same thing.

IMG_0550.JPG

IMG_0549.JPG

Now you have a few options. You could cook them in the oven until the potatoes are golden brown. For this method pour butter over them and a little salt. Or you can make potato rose chips. Bake them in the oven for 15 minutes or until the tips of the rose petals turn brown. Baking helps the potato petals stick together. Remove from oven and let cool for a bit or they'll break. Deep fry them in oil until they look like potato chips.

Serve with Porterhouse Steak and baked mashed potatoes.

You can never have too many kinds of potatoes with dinner.

IMG_0557.jpg

IMG_0564.jpg

Potato Chip Roses

IMG_0563.jpg

IMG_0565.JPG

IMG_0558.jpg

Forget to take a proof picture until my husband stole his pretty steak and the prettiest rose potatoes...

IMG_0570.JPG

Banner.png

Sort:  

I first thought you rolled some bacon to make the roses...you made them so nicely my friend!
I am so sorry for your fingers...you are same as my wife...always slicing her fingers when using the mandoline/grater!

Thank you. I have tiny hands. Potatoes are so big that I can't hold them and I always cut myself. Normally, I just pass them off on my husband who has big hands. lol

When I first saw the photo I thought they would be really really hard to do....you made it 'seem' easy. The toothpicks & foil seem to be the magic ingredient.
Thanks for interesting post

i never seen potato rose i like it
i m also food maker seen my blog

they are so pretty ...and they look deliciousely crisp

Lovely roses! I bet they were deliciously crispy! The time and effort put into making the roses over a regular baked potato really shows off in the plating :) Steak and potatoes yummmm!

You make these look so easy to make...I am all thumbs when it comes to this sort of thing. They look so scrumptious on the plate with the steak.

Really yummy art ;))) Awesome. Bon appetite my friend ;)

They look like bacon. Thumbs up.

Wow, first time I've ever seen potato roses and they look beautiful- I bet they taste just as good too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78