Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02: Carrot Cinnamon Rolls With Carrot Cream Cheese Icing

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago

This is my entry for week #2 of the Steemit Iron Chef Competition. This weeks theme was carrots and I decided to come up with a creative breakfast/dessert using such a sweet and colorful ingredient.

Carrot Cinnamon Rolls With Carrot Cream Cheese Icing

IMG_8497.jpg

Carrots are a sweet vegetable and are wonderful in both breakfast and dessert dishes. I decided to make a food that is both a breakfast and dessert....cinnamon rolls!

I have a great recipe for yeast sweet potato donuts. A good yeast dough can be used for so many great things...rolls, donuts, and of course, cinnamon rolls. I decided to turn my sweet potato yeast dough into Carrot Cinnamon Rolls.

IMG_8500.JPG

Ingredients For The Dough
1 tbs yeast
2 eggs
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tsp nutmeg
3/4 cup milk
1 cup carrot puree
1/2 stick of butter
1 tsp. vanilla
7 cups flour

Ingredients For Filling
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 stick butter
3 tsp cinnamon

Ingredients For Icing
8oz package cream cheese
1/4 cup carrot puree
4 tbs butter
2 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla

Step 1: Mix yeast, eggs, brown sugar, salt, nutmeg, milk, carrot puree, butter, and vanilla in a bowl.

Step 2: Start mixing in your flour. It took around 7 cups until my dough stopped being sticky and made a nice dough ball. The carrots are a bit watery so you may need more flour. The dough will be light and won't stick to your hand when you have enough. Knead your dough for around 10 minutes. Place it in a greased bowl for 30 minutes to an hour until doubled in size.

Dough Before Rising

IMG_8470.JPG

Step 3: Make your filling. Mix butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon to make a paste like filling. Set it aside.

Step 4: Roll out your dough onto a floured surface. The dough needs to be rolled out in a rectangular shape that is about 1/4 of an inch thick.

Step 5: Slather that dough with your brown sugar and butter filling. Cover then entire surface.

Brown Sugar-Buttery Goodness Slathered All Over

IMG_8474.JPG

Step 6: Roll it up. Start from one long side of the rectangle and roll it tight.

Step 7: Cut 1 inch cinnamon rolls and put them on a greased pan. Let your newly cut cinnamon rolls sit for 30 minutes covered to rise again. Then pop them in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for around 20 minutes. They will be golden brown when finished.

IMG_8477.jpg

IMG_8486.jpg

IMG_8482.JPG

Step 8: Mix your icing. Mix softened cream cheese, softened butter, vanilla, and powdered sugar. Top the cinnamon rolls with the icing while it is still warm.

How'd They Turn Out?

All I can say is they were GOOOD! The carrots gave the yeast dough a unique carrot flavor that was slightly sweet. The dough alone would make some nice dinner rolls. Combined with a brown sugar filling and that carrot cream cheese icing I was in heaven. The carrot flavor was strong in the icing. I was afraid all the powdered sugar and vanilla would overpower the carrot but I was happily surprised I definitely could tell there were carrots in there.

IMG_8502.JPG

IMG_8499.JPG


Follow Me Update.jpg

Sort:  

Nice job on the post and all the work you did. Great detail. I like. To bad i didnt try to get in to this iron chef contest. Good luck

Thank you! It runs until the end of the year I think. And hopefully they'll be a new game in January. Hopefully you can enter when it starts over at the end of the year.

I didnt read the rules or anything what do you win? I do food stuff so which person should i follow to find out when the next one is.

Both the @progressivechef and @steemit-ironchef post the contest posts. Below is a link to this weeks theme. It lists the rewards for winning. There is a weekly reward and then an overall reward at the end of the year.
https://steemit.com/steemit-ironchef/@steemit-ironchef/steemit-iron-chef-2017-week-02-opened-this-morning-participate-for-a-chance-to-win-part-of-the-25sbd-in-play-for-this-week

Hello @johnbcheffin12! You can join any week you wish my friend! Week 2 has just ended, stay tuned for the 3rd week theme tomorrow!
Hope to see you enter!
@progressivechef

Carrot cinnamon roll!! That seriously sounds fantastic!!

It was a great combination.

Your cinnamon rolls look so good @marxrab! My husband loves cinnamon rolls. I'll be sure to share your post with him.

It was a successful experiment. Sweet potatoes are my favorite to cook into desserts but carrots are a similar consistency so they work just as well. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

I love cinnamon rolls with all my heart!! Thank you for sharing!

Carrot puree and cinnamon rolls...it fits!! I love the sound of this..it's like tricking you to eat healthier in a typical 'junk food sweetie' =)

Great job, @marxrab! I wish you all the best!

I wish it was healthy lol. I think all the sugar makes the healthy part questionable. It is a nice way to use up carrots though. I have a freezer full of pureed carrots I cooked for my baby when she just started solid food. Now she's got teeth and I have a ton of pureed veggies.

This is amazing - I mean beyond amazing. So creative yet make sense. I would love to try making it at home @marxrab - Thank You

Good luck if you make it. I started off with a Cinnabon copycat icing recipe and a recipe for sweet potato donuts and used a little creativity to edit them. Sweet potatoes are my favorite to work with and are great in doughs. If you use carrots they are more runny so have lots of flour handy.

Thanks so much for the tips @marxrab

Carrots and cinnamon works perfectly together! What a great idea doing the roll my friend, very clever one here!
I love that glaze on the rolls, wow so mouthwatering!
Well done my friend!
@progressivechef

The glaze turned out really neat. The carrot was definitely there in the taste but it wasn't too much.

These look awesome! I love cinnamon rolls, never had one made from carrots before but it looks just as good!

Carrots were good in it. Sweet potatoes work just as well. They were really good and tasted like cinnamon rolls should taste.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56714.19
ETH 2341.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37