Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #16: Apple Jelly with Avocado & Cranberry Cream

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

IMG20171219113004.jpg

Christmas is just around the corner and I am super excited for various reasons and I hope you guys as excited too! Before I continue, I would like to give the usual shout-out to @progressivechef for hosting this great initiative and also to all the great people from this community who has been supporting this initiative by either joining the challenge itself, sponsoring the awards, creating a related sub-initiative,commenting, voting or resteeming #steemit-ironchef related posts. I am sincerely grateful for this initiative as it has made me realized how fun it can be to create different dishes using only one item as the main ingredient. Everyone is welcome to participate in this challenge and if you are interested to know more or even join this challenge yourself, you can check out the link here.


PRODUCTS USED



IMG20171219112411.jpg

  • Avocado
  • Whipping Cream
  • Granulated Sugar
  • Apple Juice
  • Cinnamon Stick
  • Dried Cranberries
  • Agar-agar Strips
  • Lemon Concentrate
  • Mixed Fruits (Strawberries, Blueberries, Orange, Cherry Tomatoes)
  • Icing Sugar
  • Brown Sugar Syrup
  • Mint Leaf (for garnish)


    IMG20171219112444.jpg

To be honest, I almost decided to give up on this week's challenge as I was a little caught up with work, but then I thought: I have been participating the #steemit-ironchef challenge for quite awhile now, so why not try to take on this week's challenge as well especially when the main item for this week is AVOCADO .

The initial thought that came to me was that I wanted to use Avocado to make a dessert, and when I think of desserts, I thought of sweets, and when I thought of sweets, I thought of fruits and sweetened cream. Therefore, I decided to create a simple dessert dish which will be sweet and slightly tangy flavoured infusing with one of my all-time-favourite, the Avocado.


PROCESS



IMG20171218183658.jpg
First, using a pair of kitchen scissors, I cut out some agar-agar strips into little pieces and soaked them in a bowl of cool water to soften them.

IMG20171218183730.jpg
I then took out a piece of cinnamon stick.

IMG20171218172152.jpg
In a pot, I boiled 2 cups of apple juice, 2 tablespoons of lemon concentrate and the cinnamon stick I took out earlier. Once it starts boiling, I reduced the fire to low heat and allow the juice to continue in a simmer for the cinnamon stick to excrete out it's flavour even more.

IMG20171218174053.jpg
After about 20-30 minutes, I took out the cinnamon stick, strained the agar-agar pieces and added them into the juice and stirred vigorously with a whisk and made sure the gelatin pieces are properly melted before I turned off the fire and poured the juice in a container and leave it to cool until it reaches room temperature and I kept it in the chiller.

IMG20171219112003.jpg
In a mixing bowl, I diced up a handful of strawberries, blueberries and 1 orange. I also cut up a handful of cherry tomatoes into fours. I then mixed in 2 tablespoons of icing sugar, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar syrup and 1 tablespoons of lemon concentrate. I evenly mixed the fruits together and transferred them into a 1/3 GN Pan.

IMG20171219111003.jpg
I poured 1 full cup of whipping cream and 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar and blended the cream with a hand blender (I actually forgot to bring my hand mixer machine, thus I tried using a hand blender to see if it could whip up some cream and it actually works!)

IMG20171219111229.jpg
Using a spoon, I scooped out the avocado flesh after cutting it in half. I used 2 avocados.

IMG20171219111320.jpg
I then mashed the avocado into a paste using a fork.

IMG20171219111551.jpg
I mixed the cream with the avocado paste until it's even, then I added in a handful of dried cranberries.

IMG20171219111837.jpg
Once the apple cinnamon jelly has set, I cut out the jelly into cube sizes.

IMG20171219112823.jpg
In a glass, I first insert the jelly cubes, layered it with the mixed fruits I made a while ago, and scooped a generous amount of avocado and cranberry cream on top of the fruits. I finished the dessert with more dried cranberries and a mint sprig as garnish on top of the cream.

And a simple yet deliciously sweet, slightly tangy and savory Apple Jelly with Avocado & Cranberry Cream dessert is ready to be serve!


RESULT



IMG20171219112904.jpg

IMG20171219112449.jpg

IMG20171219112704.jpg

IMG20171219112926.jpg

IMG20171219112606.jpg

IMG20171219112947.jpg


LAST BUT NOT LEAST



IMG20171219113032.jpg

I HOPE THIS HAS BEEN AN ENJOYABLE AND ENTERTAINING READ! THANKS FOR DROPPING BY!!

Sort:  

I prepared it. Actually it is yummy yummy yummy. Please try this. It is amazing.

Thank you for trying out this dish and gkad you like it!! XD

This desert looks like the right Christmas treat!

Thank you! Yes, I did have this concept in mind as well since Christmas is just a week away, thank you for dropping by!! :D

Hello!! Thank You and Great to see you again!! :D

This is perfect for Christmas!

Thank you!! :D

You wrote that you used gelatin (made from bones), but showed a picture of agar-agar (made from seaweed). Was it only the latter?

oh!! Thank You for correcting me! All this while I thought agar-agar is gelatin in English!! I shall edit my post and correct the term. Appreciate this info. :)

They're both "gelling" agents, and that word gelling is taken from gelatin, so I can imagine how it's confusing.

ya...here most of us use the word "agar-agar" to represent all "gelling" agent when we speak our national language, so it never came across my mind that "agar-agar" and "gelatin" are made from different ingredients. I just assumed the word "agar-agar" is "gelatin" in English. I'm glad I got to learn something new today. :)

Yummy you made it jelly from seaweed and not from bones! 😝 Great choice! 👍🏻

Hahaha...thank you!! I learnt something new today! XP

Wow, super step-by-step wei! Not that I will replicate it (people who knows me will tell you that the kitchen is where I go to die...). But then again, who knows?

Hahahaha!!! This is a simple dish, maybe it can be your kitchen debut?? ;)

Looks like a refreshing dessert! The mint leaves perched on top does give it a Christmassy feeling =D

Oh thank you!! Yes, i was trying to go for a christmas concept with this dish, and it is quite refreshing due to the citrus fruits and lemon concentrate and also the mint leaf on top...thanks for dropping by!! :D

The step by step is so detail, make me want to try to do since it doesn't look complicated at all. Thanks @macam.yes

Oh yes please do...haha...thanks for coming around!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82