You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #01 : Wild Oregon Myrtle Tomato Soup

You are one inspiring Steemian!! Yes, I believe I have seen a similar shrub on our land, I will have to check to be certain. Thanks for sharing your skills, and your recipe with us. I make my soups and sauces with the seeds and skin too hahaa, like you say must be the homesteader way (no time!!) AHHAAAA!!!

Sort:  

I would be surprised to see this plant in your area. But you probably have the English Laurel, which isn't related and is considered toxic. I see a lot of posts in foraging identification forums where people show the English Laurel or Portugal Laurel and want it to be the California Bay Laurel. The fragrance of the edible one is so unique and unmistakable. It would be nice if we could have Smell-o-Steemit! If you find your shrub, maybe we could do a pair of posts comparing our shrubs to see how similar or different they are.

And it's nice to know somebody else that cooks "the homestead way", lol! I figure those seeds and skins are good for us, since they are straight from the garden. I hope your late summer and early autumn are going well!

Ooh yes, thanks for the info, it would probably be the English or Portugal considering I'm on the East Coast of Canada. Yeah a smell-o-Steemit would be so wonderful to have!

I couldn't imagine my own sauce or soup without my skins, it seems like such a waste. And the good nutrients are usually in skins, so yeah, a must have for sure!

You got me thinking about how to store or ship these Oregon Myrtle leaves. I just pick them fresh off the tree when I need them. If they would last well enough to arrive fresh in the mail, that would be cool. I need to do some homework!

Glad to meet someone else that appreciates tomato skins, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62804.67
ETH 2444.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71