๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’™โค Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02: Rainbow Carrot Pad Thai! โค๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’œ

in #steemit-ironchef โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Hey Foodies!!

Weโ€™re in our 2nd week of the Steemit Iron Chef Challenge & this week we were tasked to show off the humble carrot - definitely one of my favorite vegetables that I would eat in large quantities everyday if I didnโ€™t run the risk of turning orange.

My entry this week is a Rainbow Carrot Pad Thai! I wanted to stick with simplicity as a theme for this dish, while showing off what carrots could really do! In this case, the carrots are replacing the noodles traditionally used in a pad thai, and with the addition of the peanut (awesome) sauce, you wonโ€™t even miss them! ;)

Photo1.jpg

I actually make a version of this with cabbage & bell peppers, but I wanted to see if carrots alone could make this dish just as yummy. The verdict is a big, fat YES. Serve this Rainbow Carrot Pad Thai with a side of rice & you got yourself a hearty, warming, & filling meal.

Are you ready to taste the rainbow?! (Sorry, not sorry.)

Photo2.jpg

Ingredients

Rainbow Carrot Pad Thai

12 carrots (divided equally between orange, yellow, and purple)
1 T. of olive oil

Photo5.jpg

Peanut (Awesome) Sauce

3 Tbsp of peanut butter (any nut butter will work, you just might have to adjust the salt/sweetness)
2 Tbsp of Tamari (or soy sauce)
2 Tbsp of water
1 large garlic clove, minced
1 Tbsp lime juice
1 Tbsp brown rice syrup, or your choice of sweetener
Pinch of crushed red pepper

Photo4.jpg

Directions

  1. Mix all of your awesome sauce ingredients together in a bowl. Set aside until ready to use.
  2. Grab a potato peeler & peel the carrots into ribbons. (If youโ€™re using organic carrots, which I recommend, you can go ahead & keep those skins!)
  3. Add oil to your warm pan. Add the carrot ribbons and sautee until they begin to soften - about 3 to 5 minutes.
  4. Add your sauce and mix together, continuing to saute for another 3 to 5 minutes.
  5. Add some chopped cilantro, green onions, and a squeeze of lime juice.

Thatโ€™s it - youโ€™re done. Itโ€™s really THAT simple!

Pro Tips!

  • Use tongs instead of a spatula to wrangle those carrot ribbons in the pan. They like to go everywhere.
  • Dice up all your carrot scraps & store them in the freezer so you can have them on hand next time you're making a broth!
  • As I mentioned above, serve this alongside some grains & you got yourself a cheap & easy dinner.

Photo8.jpg

๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’™โคEat Well. Be Well. โค๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’œ

lindsey jo (1).png

@lindseylambz, Plant-Based Chef

Sort: ย 

How I missed those colorful carrots my friend, we only have the orange ones in Mauritius!
What a great idea again, i can feel that the taste of these 'carrot pad thai' was just heavenly! As you said, cheap, easy and surely super tasty dish! We just need a little bit of creativity!
I'm so happy to see you again my friend!
Thanks for the support!

This looks really good and I don't even like carrots. You've got a gift for photography and cooking.

Aww thanks so much! @pushing.truth I used to hate carrots, but I guess my taste buds have changed! :)

looks so inviting and delicious will have to try it !

Looks delicious. Great presentation. I've been trying to eat more vegetarian. I'll give this a shot.

Thanks @ruwan! That's awesome that you're trying to eat more vegetarian - if you ever need ideas just let me know!

Very interesting move to use carrot peels instead of noodles in the phad thai..All the best for the round, @lindseylambz! =D

Oh wow! Beautiful photos and delicious-looking dish @lindseylambz! I love pad thai. Yours looks really tasty.

๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿปwell done! Congratulations! Upvoted

Thank you so much! @maruharraca! :)

This looks like some delicious pad thai for sure. Great presentation!

Wow! Looks so beautiful and tasty too, good luck my dear.

Thank you so much @creativewoman!

Your Rainbow Carrot Pad Thai looks so fresh, bright and tasty! I only wish that we could taste all these amazing dishes from @steemit-ironchef! Awesome sauce! That brought a smile to my face and it reads like a delicious sauce too! Good luck this week!

Thank you @chefsteve but your Carrot Schnitzel is off the chain! You give me some of that & I'll give you all the pad thai :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05