Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 02 #03 : Garlicky Noodles.

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago

I had a lot of ideas going through my mind for this weeks challenge. You see, I love garlic in my food. Will it be dry rye bread smeared with garlic and cooked or white bread with butter and garlic. Or sauces that taste like goodness, or potatoes with garlic.... Well, you got it, I like garlic :D

In the end, I decided to go with something simple and godly, where some of my favorite things are in. I love shrimp, tomatoes, and garlic so it was only natural to go Mediterranean. Also, as I had a lot of work the day before so I wanted to take it easy today and make something fast and simple-ish. :D So I went with noodles that resemble spaghetti but are thinner. I also used the green stuff that grows on my window, it is great to have some greens on your own, these make every dish so much better!

Here is the link to the Iron Chef contest

I spent around 40 minutes making the dish but it would take you less if you had the intent to finish faster. I was just quite tired and executed slow movements. Also, the amount that this feeds is from 4 to 6 people, I stuffed my belly too much so our food would last for 4 meals in total. Keep in mind, I am an eater.

This is a very simple recipe with no visible sauce but slick, juicy noodles basked in butter. Also, I like my noodles to have an extra ingredient to bite on every forkful so I use a lot of extra ingredients in my food. Oh, and my one rule when cooking with shrimp is, put them in the pot last and reduce the heat to the minimum. That way the shrimps will stay soft and the food will soak up the taste of the sea.

20180619_155558.jpg

Ingredients

10 big garlic cloves (more if needed)
500 g noodles (ones that need to be boiled for 3 minutes)
250 g small shrimps
400 g cherry tomatoes
80 g butter
Hawaiian salt, pepper
Basil, cress, spring onions

Any green stuff that you would like. I ended up NOT using dill as it would affect the taste in the direction I did not want it to.

20180619_152040.jpg

This one is very easy, you will need a pot and a pan.

Take the pan and put 60 g of the butter on it. Heat it and add crushed garlic to it, all of it. Let the garlic and butter mixture brown.

While that is happening, add water into a medium-sized pot, boil it and add Hawaiian salt, just a little bit, to make the water salty.

For noodles, you can add a little bit of oil or butter in the water, so the threads of pasta do not stick together. I did not do this at this time as I put the pasta in the pan immediately after boiling.

Add in the noodles in the pot of boiling water and boil for 2MINUTES, switch off the stove ring that you used, drain the water and put the pot back on the hot stove ring so all the excess water evaporates.

20180619_153736.jpg

While the noodles are losing the water, cut up the cherry tomatoes and add them in the pan. The garlic should be brown now.

Add all the green stuff that you have to the pan, then add the noodles and mix them in. Mae sure they all soak up the butter and garlic mixture.

Add the rest of the butter and mix that in, then do a taste test and add salt and pepper to your liking. You can use regular salt, no need to be fancy!

Finally, reduce the heat, add in the shrimps, mix one more time, and put on a lid. Leave for a couple of minutes. The heat should be minimal. The shrimp will become tender and stay that way for a longer time this way. They won't get hard and chewy.

20180619_155532.jpg
Say ''hi'' to my boyfriend in the spoon! :D

Sprinkle with more cress and serve. It is best to use the thin spaghetti noodles in this recipe as they soak up the butter and garlic better. Also, I had a salad on the side. Chinese cabbage + BIO mayo + salt.

Hope you enjoyed this short food of kings.
Have the best day, today, tomorrow, and forever!
Linda

Sort:  

Very good dish and uncomplicated, though my child does not eat shrimp, but loves noodles.

You can use anything else you like. Chicken would work as it is good with garlic. Or no meat products at all. Noodles are always great if they have enough sauce or greens in them :)

Yes you are right, you can replace the products.

Yummy! Pasta and garlic a perfect pairing! 🙋🏼 Hi boyfriend! 😉

nom, I'll try it without the shrimps... I love garlic

No shrimps for you? I love em'! And garlic, and tomatoes. :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

tomatoes are used in dish are cherry tomatoes?

Yeah, but you can use any tomatoes, just cut them and they are ready to go :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70