Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 08 : Grape sautéed chicken

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

This week was surprisingly easy for me. Grapes are the one thing that Latvians actually like to experiment with. Firstly, I was thinking of using raisins but I was not sure if they would qualify, even though they are just dried grapes. But the thing is, I do not really like raisins in my food. I like them as a snack. Thankfully, grapes are very easy to work with, they go with everything and anything(maybe not) and the taste always infuses other ingredients with a lovely sweetness.

Chicken goes great with a grape sauce. I have been cooking healthy far too long (2 weeks are unbearable for me, I like meat, at least once in a while) and the four shrimps I had last week do not count. So, I decided to make some soft, juicy chicken, overloaded with beautiful green grapes. This recipe can be used with wine or without it. I skipped it. In my mind it would be a waste to buy alcohol for just one meal (I do not drink, my boyfriend usually does not drink), it would have been a waste and the taste was great either way.

So, this is a fairly easy recipe to make and takes an hour tops to finish. I cooked for 2 people but if you are not overly hungry, 3 people can be fed. I made oven baked potatoes on the side and some spinach for my boyfriend. Without further ado, let's get into it!

IMG_9652.JPG

Ingredients

4 chicken legs
250 g grapes
100 ml sweet cream
1 onion
salt and pepper
35 g butter
1 tablespoon coconut oil

My side snack potatoes

10 medium sized potatoes
salt, pepper, dill and paprika spice
3 cloves of garlic
a little bit of the onion used in the cooking of grape chicken

IMG_9627.JPG

This is an easy recipe to make. First, preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius

Wash and cut the potatoes, mix in the spices and the oil and pour the mixture into a baking pan. Shove it in the oven and leave until ready

Now, the real food cookin'

IMG_9629.JPG

Take a bigger pan, put coconut oil on it, heat it up and put on the chicken legs on medium heat

Chop up your onion into small pieces (I opened the oven and threw some in there)

After five or so minutes, the chicken should start getting brown from one side, turn it around and let the other side get brown as well!

IMG_9632.JPG

When the skin of the chicken is nice and ready (I had my an on lower heat so it took longer) push the meat on one side and add the onions on the other.

Throw in some butter and cook until onions are translucent

IMG_9634.JPG

Now, mix everything together and add the sweet cream as well as the grapes

Add a dash of salt and pepper, be generous, the chicken with the grapes and sweet cream is going to be, well... Sweet. A little spice will make the flavors dance together better

Put on a lid on the pan and bring down the heat.

Sauté for approx. 20 to 25 minutes. Everything should be ready at this point.

IMG_9638.JPG

Your grapes will be lighter, softer and the tastes will have mixed already. It is a sweet, savory taste and texture that the grapes together with onion bring. I like to have my grapes in-between bites, they taste delishly cooked. But they also taste amazing in a mix with meat. Honestly, I can not decide which way is the best. They are both good!

Again, do not believe me, try it yourself!

IMG_9646.JPG

Hope you enjoyed!

Have a great day, today, tomorrow and forever,
Linda

Sort:  

Yeyyy great meal!! Chicken and grapes made a good team!

Yes! I think those are meant to be together :D

It's simply amazing to see how you made a great dish with just couple of ingredients! That picture of the chicken legs in that creamy grape sauces is soooo tempting...wow!
I was so curious to discover how you'll make the tag this time and you really did great as usual!

I would have loved to get more saturated color for my tag this week! I really need to buy some good pencils :D

Yeah, it was a really great meal, I loved it so much I will probably make it again very soon :D

Congrats Linda, to your well deserved prize! Yippee! 🎉

Oh, I didn't even know! You told me! Yay!

You did great as well! That dish was spectacular.

This is a great looking dish @lindahas! The sweet and sour of the grapes sounds like a nice combo with the chicken.

Yeah, I love how soft everything is in the dish. The flavors are out-of-the-worldly :D

looks and sounds like a lovely dish !

Thank you! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90