Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 01 : Soļanka, my love!

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

I must start off by stating the fact that I love this soup! It is one of my favorites and today I ate three portions of it. My belly is an ocean now, making those jiggly water sounds :D. I was not very happy about olives being this weeks ingredient to use and I got stuck for a second there. All hope was lost the moment I read that dreaded word. But I was not going to give in to the sorrow(insert overly dramatic voice)! Now, you must know, I never, ever, ever eat olives and whenever I try them, thanks to someone who talks me into it by saying that one person's taste buds change with years, I have to hold myself back not to spit out the berry, fruit, seed? What is it?!

So, I was not really excited about this week, that is until I slapped myself on my forehead for not realizing that Soļanka is the perfect dish to make. Olives are essential for this dish, they give the soup a taste that is unmatched and unique. It is sweet and spicy at the same time and all the weird ingredients come together in a wonderful zest symphony in the dish. The best part is, after you boil it, you have the little extra amazing taste from olives but there is no need to eat them(I gave mine to my boyfriend who is an avid olive lover).

Soļanka, or Sausage Soup, is a very popular dish in Latvia, every grandma and mom knows how to make it and every household has their own recipe and knickknacks of how to prepare the ideal soup. You may have noticed that I called the soup ''Sausage Soup'' and that is for the simple reason that there are two meat types that you can make the soup with and, sometimes, you have three different types of meat in the broth. The classical recipe includes smoked meat, which is very, very, extremely popular in Latvia but a lot of households have adopted another method of producing the yummy goodness.

I used the same method today. What I did was take some leftover sausages from the fridge and use those. But that is not the only weirdly amazing ingredient in this soup. Pickles, olives, lime, and three different kinds of sausages are just the beginning of an amazing soup that you can eat in bucket-loads!

The products I used are perfect for 6 portions and maybe even a little more if you are not like me, the forever eater. The soup it the ideal dish to have in this cold weather. It took me a little over an hour to prepare as this is an easy dish to make and does not need long boiling as the various ingredients make the flavors saturated already.

IMG_9033.JPG

Ingredients

100 to 150g olives(preferably black ones)
1 small lime
2,5l water
9 potatoes
4 medium size carrots
300g pickles
1 small onion
500ml tomato sauce
sausages or smoked meat according to preferences
salt and pepper
Paprika spice and maybe a little bit of chili powder
Sour cream
Greens for garnishing
Dark bread

IMG_9003.JPG

The first thing you have to do is peel your potatoes and carrots

Cut up your pickles, potatoes, carrots, sausages/meat in cubes. Potatoes and sausages should be bigger while carrots and pickles smaller

Dice the onion into tiny pieces

You can do it all on the same cutting board as the flavors are all going to mix together either way. The dreaded pickle juice can spread this time

IMG_9008.JPG
The proportions here are off, you will have much more potatoes

Now, take out a pan put some oil on it and heat it up

Add all of the onions and let them simmer for a minute, then add in the carrots and leave for around five more minutes. Do not forget to mix up the mixture every couple of seconds

After that, reduce the heat and add in the tomato sauce, put on the lid and let it simmer for five more minutes

Take a pot, a big one, and add the water to it

Take the pan off of the stove and replace it with the pot, bring the water to boil

IMG_9011.JPG

Put in the potatoes in the pot and add the mixture from the pan as well, make sure the water is boiling all the time

Wait for around five minutes and then add the pickles and sausages in it

Slice the lime into halves and throw these into the pot, add the olives and all of the spices

Be generous with salt and pepper

Reduce the heat and put the lid on the pot, boil until the potatoes are soft

IMG_9020.JPG

Remember. You can not just follow instructions while making a soup. It is not just throwing ingredients together and hoping that it is going to come out good. You have to taste constantly and experiment without compromises. If the lime is too strong for you, take it out mid-boiling, if there are not enough spice, add some more salt and pepper. Taste, taste, taste!

Now, your dish is ready. It goes amazingly well with some sour cream and dark bread as well as watercress but the most important part is, it is your soup, take the recipe and improve it your way!

For some pickles may seem scary to put in a soup but they and olives give an extra amazing taste to the soup, plus, they are not so potent anymore.

IMG_9029.JPG

Welcome back to my weekly recipe time, the contest is back on and so am I! Hope you have a spectacular Soļanka time and I will see you all, amazing foodies, next week!

Have an amazing day, today, tomorrow and forever,
Linda

Sort:  

Nice recipe, I like how you presented the dish :).

Haha, thanks! My biggest asset is my tag, I can not make my dishes be pretty as in restaurants but I can draw some of them nice tags :D

If you continue to work so, you will make them beautiful as in restaurants :).

I sure hope so! :)

Such wonderful comfort food- soup always makes me feel like someone is hugging me at the same time!

Oh, yass. Those kinds of soups and warm foods are the best in this cold and damp weather, I thing, the last month of winter will be full of soups for me :D

Very nice! I loved Solianka as a child. My mom sometimes served a version with fish - fish soljanka. The olives in your steaming soup gives the traditionally eastern european a mediterranean touch! And yes, I am sure it fits perfectly inside! (Going to make a tofu sausage soljanka with olives ... 😙)

I have eaten so much fish that fish in soup is not my favorite anymore :D

This is one of my favorite soups ever, I think every person should try it at least once and come up with their own unique recipe.

I don't eat fish anymore as well ...
I haven't thought about to cook Soljanka for ages but I should really create my own plantbased version! 🤔 You are right! 😃

It is not so hard after all, you just have to replace them sausages, and as you said, you can use tofu!

I would love to see how such a recipe would look

P.S Do you live in Würzburg? I dropped by your profile and a post mentions it there. Ahem, anyway, I live right next to the city! We are moving a little further away in March, to Ochenfurt, but Würzburg is our go-to place for city fun and horse riding!

Yes, I do live in Wuerzburg! Isn't it amazing to "know" a person for a while in the virtual world and then you find out she/he lives just around the corner?! We could have met on the streets that we walk down every day! Is it Eibelstadt, that little town you still live in? Don't worry, Linda! Even Ochsenfurt is not much further away from Wuerzburg for the fun part you mentioned. Where do you go horse riding? To the Reitpark am Schenkenturm? My bosses daughter goes there weekly. For the other kind of city fun - I assume we prefer different locations. 😜. For example tomorrow I am planning to go to the Odeon - but there will be no regular dance night but an event by the Midlifeclub! 🙈 Yes, I am this old already! Maybe we meet on the bridge for a glass of wine and some Salsa Music in spring ... 😃

I go horse riding to Lengfeld, I have an amazing pony-horse waiting for me there :D And I love the bridge with that little old-timely restaurant that I haven't been to yet. I think it is amazing how people just grab a glass of wine there and ''chill'' on the bridge. Oh, and that Ice cream place next to the fountain is just wonderful, I love to get some kiwi flavored goodness there!

I am not a big drinker or party person, though all wines are too alcoholey to me :D But I love the vineyards that you seem to see everywhere!

Yes, I still live in Eibelstadt! It has been a year for me here, in Germany now, I am slowly getting a hold on the language(it is similar to Latvian) and I am ready to make that commitment for our own apartment, away from the family home :D

I would love to! Meet on the bridge, that is! The city is amazing when everything is blooming or green already, and the city vibes are spectacular, we should definitely hang out sometime. I mean, how often does one meet a steemian living basically next door? :D

Hey right! I still can't believe it! In July or August I had a short conversation with another steemian introducing Wuerzburg as his hometown but I kind of lost him. But I assume he's still out there somewhere... Anyway, let's stay in contact! We could switch numbers or email adresses if you like. You can find me on discord or steemchat. And of course you can always find me around here ... 😉 Have a great time with your pony and a wonderful evening!

Wonderful post amazingly very well written! I love your style of recipes descriptions! Clear and to the point!
Absolutely well said about the best ingredient of all : taste! Taste! Taste!
Welcome on board SIC 2018 my friend!
And the tag you made this time is surely among the best you've made!!! Beautiful!

Thank you!

Glad the contest is back and I can make them dishes again!

Oh my, this looks so good, I've never made it myself, but I do enjoy it every now and then when I visit back home.

Good luck in the challenge!

Yeah! It is one of the best yummy soups out there!

Very nice recipe, this sould be great on a Frozen day...very popular in eastern Europe to add cream un this Kind of soup...i like It...

Yeah, I add cream to all of my soups :D

Looks great. I'm going to make some. Not only upvoting you, but I bookmarked this recipe for later.
It's not so strange considering cabbage/saurkraut soup is along the same lines as adding pickles and olives in your soup.
bon appétit
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica
check out some posts, no obligation

Haha, yeah, I know! But for some this might be weird.

Ohh, I love saurkraut soup!

The dish seems delicious and the final result is really beautiful! I'll try to cook it!

Please come and visit my foodblog, too!

Well, I know solanka very well, my babcia was making it ;-)

Aww, I love oma made solanka!

I really like your posts,
I will follow you and wait for the next post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81