Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #12 : Cauliflower and pea puree

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago

This week has been frantic for me and on top of all of it by boyfriend got sick. I must tell, it is true what they say, when a man gets a bug he acts like he is dying :D The poor soul hasn't been able to walk further than the bathroom and eats only purees and porridges. So today I am making something simple and healthy. For the sake of my mental health and my boyfriend physical one.

This is a simple dish that goes perfectly with fish or meat, but I will show how to prepare the puree itself as I have some leftovers that need to be eaten and a puree is exactly what is missing. I hope you will be okay with an easy recipe, as there are days, for all of us, when we just can't spend hours in kitchen, but still want to eat delicious food. This is a perfect dish for such an occasion!

If you are in a hurry and need something fast, this is the perfect thing to make, it is delicious, filling and healthy. A warm touch to your tummy in the cold, cold Autumn/Winter season. It is also a perfect meal for kids as it is very natural, you can just cut down on the salt and it is ready to go! And you will be able to make it faster than potatoes as the cauliflower boils easier.

This dish can feed 4 to 6 people(depending on if they are big or small, sick or healthy :D) and took very fast to finish, around 45 minutes. This will be a short recipe as it is very, very easy, something completely different from what I usually make in those dish tutorials.

IMG_8649.JPG

Ingredients

1 cauliflower
350 g of peas (frozen or conserved)
butter
salt

You see? A short list, plus I only spent 3 euros on this, but the outcome is a million bucks! You can also leave the reigns in your kids hands as cooking this does not involve sharp objects and the only potential hazard is in the boiling part.

IMG_8638.JPG

First, divide your cauliflower in smaller pieces

Heat water and put the cauliflower in

If your peas are frozen, boil them in another pot, but if they are conserved, leave them for later

IMG_8642.JPG

When the Cauliflowers are boiled, mix them and the peas in a puree

Add salt and butter and mix everything

It is that easy, there is not much more to do but eat. I told you it was an easy recipe! When you are on budget, out of time and still want something that tastes heavenly, this is the way to go!

IMG_8643.JPG

I hope this fast, healthy, hearty alternative to the usual potato puree is to your liking!
Have an amazing day, week and life,
Linda

Sort:  

I love an easy fast dish ... sometimes it is exactly what we need on busy days at the end of the month ... and I do know exactly what you mean ... It is like the rug has been pulled from under them hehe Your dish still looks a million buck and I am sure it is very tasty too ...

Oh, yeah, it was amazing! I was hesitant to skip the pepper, but I am glad I did, because the taste was just right!
Yeah, I also need to save some coins for our future moving, so cheap easy dishes are God-sent :D

4 simple ingredients and in the final we get an amazing dish! These easy and quick recipes are really very handy as you are right...there's some days we just don't have long hours to spend in our kitchens!
Lovely tag as usual!

My greatest asset is the tag, so I will work on each one! :D
I read about the new featured fruit and I already have an idea for a tag, but not for the recipe :D

I am just wondering if you still have all the tags that you made for each of the entries? That would be a nice collection!

I do! I keep them in my journal. I do not remember if they all are there, but most are.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

Sure, go ahead! I accept!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59