Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #10 : Potatoes in foil, baked in the oven

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Potatoes, garlic and sour cream are three huge things to Latvians. We love them potatoes, we use sour cream almost everywhere and we rely on garlic to keep us healthy. But do you know what we love more? All those things together! While I was growing up, each food that contained potatoes would have sour cream on the side. Of course, there was also ketchup and mayo, but my mom always had a jar of sour cream in the fridge.

There were so many things I could have made, but I chose something very simple and close to my heart. Potatoes wrapped in foil have been my favorites ever since I discovered bonfire baked potatoes in foil. Now, obviously, I do not make a bonfire every time I want a potato in a foil, I have to use the second best thing, an oven.

I still remember when I ate a bonfire potato for the first time, it was midsummer(23rd of June). Latvians have a huge celebration during 23rd and 24th of June. All our extended family was visiting and everyone was in the spirit of looking for a blooming fern(pun intended, because ferns do not bloom, it is just an excuse for adults to get frisky in the forest or to get the kids off their backs), drinking beer and eating shashlik(meat on a stick) with... You guessed it, potatoes!

It takes a while for the potatoes to get ready, so be ready to leave them in the oven for a longer time (up to an hour).
You can make the potatoes with anything you want, but I am going to show you a recipe of my own liking. Today I made 15 potatoes for a big family. But you can choose how many potatoes to make, and calculate accordingly.

23336188_1630235300370333_181949867_o.jpg

Ingredients

15 potatoes (as similar in size as possible)
6 cloves of garlic
4 tablespoons of melted butter
salt and pepper
greens of your choice (I used thyme, garlic bows and some dried greens)
sour cream!!!

Optional

1 egg
20 g of cheese
onion

For salad (also optional)

1 Chinese cabbage
Mayonnaise
salt

23379473_1630190483708148_984632049_o.jpg

Wash your potatoes till there is no sand left.

Cut out holes in your potatoes, where you are going to add the filling(like in the photo below).

Clean the garlic cloves and grind them into a small bowl.

23423357_1630190790374784_530898875_o.jpg

Add the melted butter to the garlic.

Add the spices to the mixture(salt, pepper, greens) and mix it.

I must add, that I added an egg in three of my potatoes and cheese in three other, so there would be bigger variety.

23335831_1630190833708113_1608785036_o.jpg

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius

Cut foil pieces that can wrap the potatoes completely.

Fill the potatoes with your garlic/butter mixture and wrap them in the foil(I added extra salt and pepper on the bottom of the foil, so all of the potato would be with the spices)

IMG_8541.JPG

The potatoes I added cheese to were made with the following: cheese, butter, thyme, salt, pepper, onions and garlic bows.

The potatoes that were filled with egg were made with the egg plus the garlic mixture.

When you finish filling all of your potatoes, wrap them in the foil completely.

IMG_8546.JPG

I left some space on the pan to add the potato cuttings on a little later.

Put the pan in the oven and leave for half an hour, then add the leftover potatoes you have.

I added some carrots, butter and spices as well, so the potatoes have taste.

23376866_1630191133708083_976449981_o (1).jpg

When you put the potatoes on the pan, bake all of it for half an hour more(or longer).

To check if the potatoes are ready use a fork.

While the potatoes are baking, cut up the Chinese cabbage and mix it with mayo and salt, it will still have a sweet taste that will go perfectly with the oven baked potatoes!

23423770_1630191147041415_1476369802_o.jpg

When your potatoes are ready, serve with some sour cream and the salad. The potato goes perfectly with meat as well, but we wanted something a little lighter for dinner today.

Here, a potato for taste!

IMG_8563.JPG

Have a great day, week and life,
Linda!

Sort:  

They look delicious, but the quantity attracts my attention, do you feed an army?

Sooo, I guess it is story time :D I live in a family home. There are three floors and each floor is like an apartment. First floor is where the parents of my bf live, second floor is grandma and third floor is me, my bf and his sister. Germany is new to me and I did not know if I would want to stay for a long time, so we decided on a trial year. We will be looking for our own apartment in December/January, but at the moment, when somebody cooks it is for the whole family. :D Oma(grandma) does not eat with us most of the time, but the parents and sister, me and my bf are 5 people, plus some of the family wants to take food to work :D SO, yeah, at least once a week I feed an army :D

That sounds like a fun living arrangement as long as everyone gets along. That kind of thing is pretty rare here in the US.

XD, fascinating. The most I have come to cook is for 7 people, what a great job, I see that apart from your good stories you are also a great chef, I wish you luck in the ironchef. I think I will try my luck since I also like to cook and I have seen that in the Hispanic community an ironchef contest has also begun.

You should definitely join! I do it mostly for fun, because I love to cook, but I have no decorating talent, so there are no victories under my belt :D

Haha, we do not really live together, we just eat together, but otherwise each of us have our own space, it is a big house

I like how you made the well in the potato and baked it with everything inside. I will try that next time. I love baked potatoes with sour cream!

Mmm, sour cream... That is the way to make me happy :D

Potatoes is one of my favorite vegetable. Is it possible to cook without oven ? May be most people have no oven ! Have a nice dinner :)

Yes, as I said in the post, you can do it in a bonfire. Wrap the potatoes in foil and put them in burned out fire on the ground, between the coals, while they are still hot! Here, I found a link for you! https://www.livestrong.com/article/426582-how-to-cook-a-baked-potato-on-an-open-fire/

Yes. That's nice. we ate this way when we had wood fire and we mixed only salt with it. :D Thanks for nice recipe

Haha, no problem! :)

uhmmm I love baked potatoes .... also big here in my house ....

Yasss, I think they are the best, especially with salt. Sometimes that is enough! I still remember the times when I would take out a potato from the fire and it would have some burned parts, but the rest would be yummy goodness!

Potatoes, sour cream and garlic are really made for each other! Mixing them together always gives you an amazing result!

Yes, definitely!

wow great post, nice pics, great recipe, its delicious, i love potatoes @lindahas I congratulate you for having taken them, thanks for sharing, I invite you to take a look at my most recent posts, Cheers!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pratickr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.28 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41