Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #03 : Beetroot cold soup

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Summer is over, but I haven't fully let go, yet. The soup I was making today is perfect for hot days, so when I saw that today was sunny, it was good enough for me. The last cold soup this year! Not a lot of people in my country make this dish in winter, because it gets really cold and cold food is the last thing anybody needs in that situation. But it is a hit in summer, my mom makes it, my neighbor makes it, and that annoying grandma that thinks all the kids are little devils makes it, too.

In Latvia we call this dish ''Aukstā zupa'' which translates directly to ''Cold soup''. Cold soups are very popular in Latvia, but they are not limited to my country. They are really popular in Poland, too. I found that out when I lived in Canary Islands and my Polish friend recognized the dish immediately, but everybody else was so confused about the color.

It is a very light dish, that doesn't take much time to make, I took me around 40 minutes to finish, and I ended up with 6 portions.

21767655_1586339288093268_1961976282_n1.jpg

21875624_1586336534760210_903547552_o.jpg
I ruined my little ''proof'' tag with water right off the bat!

Ingredients

1 l buttermilk
350 g boiled beets
400 g potatoes
4 eggs
one long or two small cucumbers
salt and pepper

21850346_1586337294760134_484808679_n.jpg
The buttermilk is red, because I added beet juice from the packaging into the pot

The first thing to do is to put the eggs and potatoes boiling.

Boil eggs until they are hard, so for around 10 minutes, and potatoes until they are soft, but don't let them come apart.

Potatoes are the thing that makes the preparing time for the dish 40 minutes long, otherwise it would take you 10 minutes to throw everything together. Latvians love their potatoes, so they are used in most foods.

Pour your buttermilk in a pot and add sliced cucumbers

21769655_1586337498093447_1882627193_n.jpg

When the eggs are boiled, cut them up and add into the same pot.

21903397_1586337714760092_511627839_n.jpg

Now the beets, I grate them, because I don't like huge chunks of them in my food.

The beets make the food a little bit sweet, so I usually add extra pepper and salt, but it always depends on personal preference.

You will see the mixture turning pinker by every added beet!

21769629_1586338308093366_1032063622_n.jpg

And here is the end result. This is a very simple recipe for a refreshing summer soup. You can replace the buttermilk with Greek yogurt and add some water as it is thicker in consistence. There are also recipes out there without beets, but this is the only cold soup I am ever consuming. This is the third time I made it this year and it has our last garden cucumbers in it.

I didn't use any filters on the last picture just so it is visible how bright the food gets!

21767597_1586338501426680_846850362_n.jpg

P.S. This is my second entry in the Iron chef contest, run by @steemit-ironchef and I am thinking of making a food post every Monday. I love cooking, especially cakes, I did a raw date/hazelnut cake, too today as it is my boyfriends birthday tomorrow and he loves them vegan dishes. :D

If you make it, I would love to see some of your pictures, in the end of the day, it is always hot someplace :D
Have the best day, an amazing week and a wonderful life,
Linda

Sort:  

Oh...the addition of eggs sounds really good! Rhis looks delicious! Tip!

Thank you! Yeah, the eggs are my favorite part in the soup, I like to add them and potatoes when they are still warm.
And thank you for the tip! :)

Hey my friend it's sad to hear that summer is leaving you guys, but you know what!? It's coming my way now!!! Yeah summer will be in my country , well we are already getting a warm weather these days!
It's the first time i am discovering this lovely cold soup. I love the color the buttermilk got while adding the grated beetroot! And the boiled eggs + potato...hmmm lovely!
Always great to discover such classics from you!
Thanks again for participating my friend!

I am already coming up with the zucchini idea, we have so much of them this year, three plants and we can't keep up with the flow, even had to give some away. So, garden grown food there again! :D
Yeah, I have brought some Latvian classics to light lately, maybe need to switch it up a little :)

That looks so wonderful! There does not seem to be many cooks using Buttermilk for anything other than bread here in the United States these days, but I grew up drinking fresh buttermilk and mother used it in a lot of dishes. We never ever had cold soup though, and I would really like to try this :) The only thing is that I would probably be eating it all by myself, unless of course I neglected to tell them about the buttermilk lol.

Haha, I know the struggle, not a lot of people enjoy buttermilk, I hated it as a child, but now I love it :D
And the thing is that in the soup you can't really tell that it is buttermilk, so you might as well be a little evil and sneak a spoon into somebody :D

I may just do that :D

Looks delicious! Cold soup like this is called Gazpacho where I come from. A very healthy dish

Yeah, I know the term, we just don't use it in Latvia, I guess we really like to be plain and simple :D

Really nice soup! I have never had a soup with buttermilk. It must be so refreshing. And the sourness of the buttermilk must be perfect with the beets. I will try this recipe. Thanks and good luck this week!

Thank you!
At my home we use something that is called ''kefīrs'', it is more sour than buttermilk. But it is hard to find in Germany. Buttermilk works just as well in the end :)
And, yes, it is amazingly refreshing in summertime, not too heavy of a food either!

wow congratulations and am sure that you will be a big success here due to your good heart , great contents and hardowrk...keep it up
These eaters look good for our health and seem to taste delicious, thank you anyway

Thank you so much! :)
I am trying not to disappoint every day :)
Have the best day!

Just try every day until you find tru way

I sure will!

lovely recipe, and so nicely photographed! thank u!

Haha, thank you! :)

Looks like a beautiful soup

Upvoted by the Minnows Accelerator Project (MAP).

This article was created by a MAP Member. You can request to join the Minnows Accelerator Project too.

Read all the articles posted by MAP members.

Please upvote this comment so that MAP can continue to support Quality Content Creators.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57