Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #16 : A Simple & Chunky Guacamole

20171219-DSC_0835.jpg

A Simple & Chunky Guacamole

It's Week #16 of the @steemit-ironchef challenge here on the STEEM platform. The year is coming to an end and I am proud to say that I have not missed a week of the challenge. The special ingredient for this week is the Avocado 🥑! I have kept a theme of simplicity throughout the 2017 challenge and this week I will keep it going. Here's a recipe for a simple and chunky guacamole, perfect for dipping with tortilla chips or topping off a meal.

333333.png

20171219-DSC_0828.jpg

Ingredients

2 Hass Avocados
1 Red Onion
1 Roma Tomato
1 Jalapeño Pepper
1 Lime
1 clove of Garlic
1 tablespoon of Fresh Cilantro
Ground Cumin
Ground Cayenne
Salt & Pepper

333333.png

Step 1: Chop 'Em Up

Chop up the tomato, onion, jalapeño, and garlic into small pieces. Cut the avocados in half.

20171219-DSC_0830.jpg

333333.png

Step 2: Scoop the Avocado & Add the Lime

Scoop the 2 avocados out of their peel and put them in a large mixing bowl. Add the juice from 1 lime.

20171219-DSC_0831.jpg

333333.png

Step 3: Add Chopped Ingredients & Spices

Add the chopped up tomato, onion, jalapeño, garlic and cilantro into the bowl of avocado. Sprinkle on some salt, pepper, cayenne and cumin. I like to go heavy on the cayenne and cumin, but feel free to put as much as you'd like.

20171219-DSC_0833.jpg

333333.png

Step 4: Mash It Up!

Using a potato masher (or whatever you can find), mash up the avocado until well mixed and the ingredients are all incorporated.

20171219-DSC_0834.jpg

333333.png

Step 5: Serve & Enjoy!

I ate this batch alongside some blue corn tortilla chips, but it would be great as a topping for tacos, burritos, sandwiches or even by itself on toast. Enjoy!

20171219-DSC_0838.jpg

333333.png
Find out more about the Steemit-IronChef Contest
Follow @steemit-ironchef & @progressivechef

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text

Sort:  

OH MY GOD!That looks yummy!Im totally gonna make it, I love avocados and with a toast it will be just 😋😋😋

Yes it’s great on toast! There are so many things you can do with it, last night I cut grilled chicken into slices and used them to dip into the guac! It was delicious

Nice one. This post should be the Iron chef winner of all time! Thanks for sharing

Thanks my friend, I sure hope so! I have yet to even place during my entire time in the challenge

Keep it up buddy. You doing great and do find time to check my blog post too😎

ummmm nomnom I so love Guacamole !

High five on having a entry every week! It's the most consistent thing I've done on Steemit. It feels like a sports team schedule, lol. Your guacamole looks really good. There's a lot to be said for keeping it simple in cooking!

I could take a bath in guacamole! So delicious recipe! Tip!

Thank you so much @pusteblume :)

You're welcome! Reesteemed as well... 🙃

It's perfectly healthy. I love this food!
follow you.^^

Nothing like the classic! I could eat guac with every meal. Ever try leaving the seed in to prevent browning

I’ve never tried... does it actually work?

it looks good:) I'm following you

thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72