Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #03 : Beet & Berry Smoothie

20170919-DSC_0532.jpg

Beet & Berry Smoothie

The special ingredient in this week's @steemit-ironchef challenge is the beetroot. Beets are an earthy tasting root vegetable that I honestly don't purchase very often, but perhaps after this challenge I will begin to keep more in the house. It has a bit of an acquired taste, but it's loaded with health benefits. Here I will show you how to make a tasty beet and berry smoothie in just a few steps.

333333.png

Ingredients

1/4 cup - Beets
1/2 cup - Frozen Blueberries
1/4 cup - Frozen Pineapple
1/4 cup - Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
A squirt of Honey
5 ice cubes

20170919-DSC_0520.jpg

333333.png

Step 1: Cook & Slice the Beets

I used cooked beets but you can also use raw. Be sure to chill the beets after cooking.

20170919-DSC_0524.jpg

333333.png

Step 2: Squeeze the Orange

Squeeze the oranges and don't be afraid to let some pulp get in! Use roughly 1.5 oranges worth of juice. Fresh squeezed is best, but feel free to substitute store bought orange juice.

20170919-DSC_0521.jpg

333333.png

Step 3: Throw it in a Blender

Add the beets and orange juice to a blender with the frozen blueberries and pineapples. Toss in the ice cubes and squirt in the honey.

20170919-DSC_0525.jpg

333333.png

Step 4: Blend it up

Blend the ingredients for a minute or two until smooth

20170919-DSC_0527.jpg

333333.png

Step 5: Enjoy!

Pour it into a glass and serve immediately.

20170919-DSC_0530.jpg

Let me know what you think!

333333.png
Find out more about the Steemit-IronChef Contest
Follow @steemit-ironchef & @progressivechef

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text

Sort:  

Thanks for planning my breakfast for tomorrow :) I like the flavor of beets, but I think for sure the fruits and beets in your smoothie all complement each other well! Yummmm.

Thanks! I'm glad I can help :)

Great job @jeffjagoe! The beet flavour can be tricky to disguise. Did you like the finished taste?

Thanks I was actually quite impressed, I liked it so much that I made another one tonight!

This looks yummy! I'm going to have to try this!

Thanks! It was delicious

Pleasant post. Hardwork pays more so keep working hard! @jeffjagoe Love it.

It's not beer!!!!!!

Where's the beer!!

Beetroot 🍺 😉

This looks so refreshing! I love that it's a healthy drink.

Thank you, Healthy but tasty too!

Thank you for this! I've done research on what veggies and fruits good for my dad who has a colon cancer and beetroot is one of them. I'm so happy that you've shared this recipe. I can make a smoothie for dad now.

Beets are very healthy and detoxifying! I’m so happy that this recipe can help, it’s very tasty too! :)

I totally agree!

wow looks very tasty, must be healthy too.
thanks for sharing, upvoted an follow.

Thank you! Yes, it’s a very healthy and refreshing drink

I made ones beet cocktail juice with beet, appel and a bit of limon, was really tasty.

Great smoothie! I love to add beets to my juices. Sounds great paired with the fruits.

Yes it was delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66397.79
ETH 3460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61