STEEMIT IRONCHEF #13 - ORANGE ARRAY

Finally we've got some fruit for this week's Steemit IronChef competition! Thanks for the palate cleanser, @progressivechef!

For my dish featuring refreshing oranges, I made an array of orange treats, sweetened with orange juice and honey. That's right, no processed sugar (or flours for that matter) can be found in this dish!

Orange and lemon curd squares, orange bars with a cashew-coconut crust, and orange dark chocolate fudge are flanked by dark chocolate-dipped honey candied orange peel. There's a little of everything in this dish, and the bright citrusy oranges complement the dark chocolate and nutty flavors quite well.


Orange and lemon bars

Cashew- coconut crust

  • 1/2 c cashew flour
  • 1/4 c coconut flour
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 2 T coconut oil
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/4 t vanilla

Steps

  • Combine all crust ingredients and press into round baking pan greased with coconut oil
  • Bake at 350F for about 10 minutes, not allowing it to brown.

Orange and lemon filling

  • 1/4 c freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 T freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 t orange zest
  • 2 T honey
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 t coconut flour
  • 1 1/2 t arrowroot powder

Steps

  • Whisk all filling ingredients together until smooth
  • Pour onto cooled crust and bake at 350F for about 20 minutes until just set.

Orange & Lemon Curd

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 c honey
  • 1/4 c freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1/4 c freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 6 T coconut oil

Steps

  • Whisk all ingredients together over medium heat in a saucepan.
  • Bring to a light simmer and continue to whisk until thickened
  • Allow to cool in refrigerator until set.
  • In this case, I put some curd into the freezer so that I could create the curd cube, but it is just fine in the fridge if you are not looking to make a specific shape from it.



Honey-candied orange peel

  • Simmer slices of orange peel in a 1:1 mixture of honey and water for about an hour, until the peel is translucent.
  • Allow to cool on parchment paper.
  • Dip into melted dark chocolate and refrigerate to set.
  • Reserve the honey liquid for the fudge.


Orange dark chocolate fudge

Ingredients

  • 1/4 c coconut oil
  • 3 T cocoa powder
  • 1/4 c honey liquid reserved from candied orange peel
  • 1/4 c dark chocolate

Steps

  • Melt all ingredients over a double boiler.
  • Pour into parchment lined dish and refrigerate to set.

Here are a few process shots I remembered to take while cooking:


And of course, here's my proof photo:



I hope you've enjoyed this recipe, and I'd love to hear your thoughts.


If you're interested in being a part of the Steemit IronChef Competition, don't forget to check out the details at @steemit-ironchef. A huge thanks to @progressivechef for coming up with this awesome way to showcase our food creations and build community with each other here on Steemit. Looking forward to continuing this competition!!


final maybe.jpg


All content and images by @jaymorebeet, taken on November 28, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

Oh my goodness!!! I need all of these right now! These are brilliant recipes.

I'm wondering how these would work with satsumas. I'm going to give that a try. Normally the peels would be a bit thick but this year's crop is unusually large with a denser rind.

This has inspired me to bring my "world famous" Christmas Spumoni Fudge recipe out of semi-retirement. It'd be an incredible addition to this spread.

January is gonna require some serious damage control ... 😬

Jeeze, these desserts look so good. I like the looks of your recipes too - simple enough even for me. Yumminum!

Thanks @cabelindsay. Yes of course you can make all of these at home!! Simple and yummy :)

yum nomnom... mouthwatering ... I dare not show my daughter , she was so delighted when she heard this weeks theme was oranges as she was sure I would make chocolate/orange mousse or at a bare minimum a dessert ... but alas to hear surprise my ideas for this week are no where near her ideas ... I will be making my entry tonight hihi ... had issues getting my ingredients this week ! Your dish looks beautiful and so inviting !

Thanks @globaldoodlegems! I love that you and your daughter share recipe and food creation ideas! I am looking forward to those experiences one day!

It is fun ... but beware little people can be highly opinionated lol and get weird reactions to nondessert dishes hehe ... just kidding ... she is my greatest supporter ...even if she has no intention of tasting some of my dishes ...cracks me up when she tells me how pretty my dish is, how lovely it smells in the kitchen, and then totally refuses to taste it !!!

Congratulations @jaymorebeet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Chocolate and orange pairs so well together. Lovely plate. I have a brother who would adore our food. He loves orange and chocolate together.

Oooh - i wasn't always a fan of the combination, but if it's dark chocolate and orange...count me in!

I love all of these yummy treats..but my favorite is surely the orange peels...very well done my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77