STEEMIT IRONCHEF #11 - BELL PEPPER ARANCINI, THREE COLORFUL SAUCES, & SWEET HEAT CHUTNEY

When I first learned that Bell Pepper was the theme for the 11th week of the Steemit Iron-Chef challenge, I was a bit perplexed. I like bell peppers, don't get me wrong, but I don't typically feature them in foods that I cook.

After a bit of contemplation and a lot of procrastinating, I settled on creating a twist on the soul-satisfying classic, arancini (Italian rice balls), loaded with finely diced bell pepper and stuffed with goat cheese. The arancini would be served atop three distinct colorful bell pepper sauces, and topped with a sweet and spicy bell pepper chutney.



I think this is one of the most delicious entries I've made thus far. The bell pepper arancini are crispy on the outside and absolutely creamy on the inside. I used many of the tips that I read about on Serious Eats.



Bell Pepper Arancini:

  • Saute the onion and bell pepper in olive oil until they just begin to soften
  • Add salt, pepper, and all purpose seasoning to taste
  • Add 2 cups short grain rice
  • Add homemade chicken stock (3 cups)
  • Cook on stovetop (or pressure cooker) until rice is tender
  • Make a roux with 2T butter and 2T flour

  • Add 1/4 c milk and 3/4 c chicken stock, whisking frequently, until sauce begins to thicken, about 3 minutes
  • Add dried thyme and salt to taste
  • Remove from heat and whisk 2 beaten eggs into the sauce
  • Combine the rice and the bechamel sauce
  • Spread the mixture on sheet pans, and allow to cool in the fridge
  • Roll the cooled arancini filling into balls, and stuff a little piece of goat cheese in the center of each.

  • Coat each arancini in a slurry of equal parts flour and water
  • Coat in a 1:1 mixture of whole wheat breadcrumbs and Italian seasoned panko bread crumbs.
  • Fry in about 4 inches of vegetable oil until the outside is golden brown.



The three bell pepper sauces.

  • First, roast the peppers in the oven until they are softened and gorgeous.
  • Each of the sauces was done quickly in my handy dandy refurbished vitamix :)

Sauce #1. Red bell pepper, roasted hazelnuts, salt, pomegranate vinegar, olive oil

Sauce #2: Yellow bell pepper, goat cheese, roasted almonds, salt, olive oil

Sauce #3: Green bell pepper, spinach, avocado, olive oil, salt


The sweet and spicy bell pepper chutney

  • Dice 1/8 white onion and 1/2 each red and orange bell peppers
  • Combine with pomegranate vinegar, 1 t sugar, 1/4 t salt, and 1/2 t cayenne pepper
  • Cook over medium heat for barely 3 minutes, just to get the flavors to mingle a bit.


Here's my proof photo this week:



I hope you've enjoyed this recipe, and I'd love to hear your thoughts.


If you're interested in being a part of the Steemit IronChef Competition, don't forget to check out the details at @steemit-ironchef. A huge thanks to @progressivechef for coming up with this awesome way to showcase our food creations and build community with each other here on Steemit. Looking forward to continuing this competition!!


final maybe.jpg


All content and images by @jaymorebeet, taken on November 14, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

These look delicious! The combination of flavors are perfect and, as usual, you present them in the most beautiful way possible. Yumm, it would be such a treat to have a taste!

They look so delicious and sounds like lovely little treats ... as Foodflaneur says looks like they will call for more ! Beautiful !

Thanks for the interpretation - I really wasn't sure!

I'd like to bite the crispy arancinies! Beautiful as always! 😋

Thanks @pusteblume! Too bad we gobbled them all up! Next time :)

These balls looks so yummy my friend! You made me hungry with this great entry, good luck my dear.

Thanks @creativewoman!! Sorry I've been so busy lately and haven't been on steemit as much as I want to be! I'm so glad to see you stopped by :)

Yum, these look so moreish!

Hah! That's a new one for me :)

What an inventive recipe, I really don't know how you keep coming up with amazing dishes. good luck in the competition!

Thanks @lrich! I'll definitely be making these again!

At the risk of insulting the chef, I first opened this and thought, "ooh, hushpuppies". Then, reading on and delving deeper into the kitchen magic, it became apparent these were WAY beyond those little dough balls of delight. Yowza, those look SOOOOOOO good. And with all the sauces too.

This is another wonderful entry from you my friend! As usual great to see how to did many different preps with the product of the week!
Very well done and I am sure this must be so yummy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77