STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2017 #05: PEARS EVERYWHERE!

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

We're already in the 5th week of the Steemit IronChef competition, and this week's theme is PEAR. Many thanks to our wonderful host @progressivechef for organizing such an engaging and creative challenge!

I am a lover of most fruits, and a good pear is no exception. I was happy to hear the theme and to create a dish to highlight the delicate and fresh sweetness of pears.

dJI6A7911 full plate choc.jpg

I bought several small bartlett pears from the local farmer's market over the weekend, and they were perfectly ripened by the time I was ready to use them.


So here's the plate I made up. It took about 100 times more time to make it than it did for my kids, husband, and I to gobble it up. I tried several new techniques in this week's challenge, including making tuiles, oven-baked candied pears, and poached pears. What a great week of learning and cooking and eating!


For the candied pears, I used a mandoline to thinly slice the pears, dipped both sides lightly in granulated sugar, and baked on a silpat, flipping halfway through. The result is a crispy and sweet dehydrated pear that is concentrated in pear flavor.

By accident, the candied pears created a fabulous pear juice crisp - a glass-like candy that formed when the juices of the pear caramelized on the silpat. Delicately crispy with the pure essence of pear, these pear juice crisps added a nice element of crunch to the dish.

I poached the pears in a combination of apple cider and earl grey tea. Pears and tea seem to be a fitting combination, delicate, pure flavors. The natural sweetness of the apple cider was a nice complement to the poached pears, and let the pear flavor take center stage.

After poaching the pears, I reduced the poaching liquid to form a cider and earl grey poaching liquid reduction. I reserved half of the poaching liquid reduction and whisked in some dark chocolate to melt down and create a dark chocolate poaching liquid glaze for one of the pears and the plating.

To make the pear and pomegranate mousse, I whipped heavy cream, adding pureed pears and pomegranate seed juice, along with a touch of maple syrup.

For the tuile, I whisked together egg white, sugar, flour, melted butter, vanilla, and pear puree to form a batter. I spooned and spread the batter onto the silpat and baked until just crisp. With quick hands, I rolled the tuiles before they firmed up and set.



Here's my proof photo!


I hope you've enjoyed this recipe, and I'd love to hear your thoughts.


If you're interested in being a part of the Steemit IronChef Competition, don't forget to check out the details at @steemit-ironchef. A huge thanks to @progressivechef for coming up with this awesome way to showcase our food creations and build community with each other here on Steemit. Looking forward to continuing this competition!!


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and images by @jaymorebeet, taken on October 3, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

I cannot believe this @jaymorebeet! You've created a masterpiece!

Hahaha you're hilarious. So glad you like it :)

My taste buds are jealous of what my eyes just witnessed. Simply amazing! Never been a big fan of pears but that is just crazy presentation.

Good luck in the contest I have a feeling you don't even need it!

Thanks @enjar :) I bet I could convince you to LOVE pears :)

You always make beautiful entries @jaymorebeet! Looks delicious!

So do you @offoodandart!! Thanks so much :)

Oh my goodness...what we got here!!! So much work you did on this entry may friend...It's just great to see all the different ways of cooking the pears.
Perfectly poached pear and wonderful glaze!

Impressive is all that I can say ...besides I wanna dig in ...

Dig away if you can get your hands on some---i had to fight off my littles to get a bite in!

Food art! I like it!

So glad you appreciate it @braxton101 :) A merger of food and art - art you can eat :)

These look awesome! For sure it tastes as wonderful. Very nice presentation as usual @jaymorebeet!

Thanks friend :) It was pretty fun to make and try new ideas :)

Incredible! OK, where to start? First off the plating and photography are beautiful. The glazed pears are textbook perfect. Pear with pomegranate and pear with Earl Grey tea are amazing pairings. And the pear tuile was a great idea. Great Job!

Ah you're too nice! I'm so glad you like these ideas :) I'm definitely going to make tuiles again - except i need gloves or something because those bad boys are HOT HOT!!

You need to develop "asbestos hands", as we call it in the food world!

Earl Grey and Cider? Are you kidding? That sounds out of this world!! And your tuilles look fab. I wanted to make some but it was a lot of effort, and I also thought it may be a bit busy!

I kind of want to make a kind of mulled TEA with cider....and cloves maybe? or vanilla beans....cinnamon? Ahh too many ideas too little time. Those tuiles were really delicious but if you work as fast as you need to, it's not easy on the hands for sure!

Ooh that sounds amaze! I have a vanilla chai tea and it's very soothing. Perfect sleepy time tea 🙄

Wow! Excellent work! Very beautiful entry, i like them so much, the pear and pomegranate mousse go well together.good luck my friend.

Thanks @creativewoman!! The mousse was super easy to put together, but believe it or not I made an alternating stack of pomegranate/pear and just pear mousse with pomegranate seeds inbetween the layers and i put it in the freezer between each layer to have it firm up....but when i went to plate it, the whole thing fell out of the mold and landed on my FOOT!!!! I had some leftover mousse so I used it anyway, but Ahhh!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99