You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #08: Savory Pumpkin Custard on a Bed of Baby Wild Greens – with Black Nightshade and Spruce Tree Dressing – and Flowers!

This looks delicious and you are inspiring me to do search for edible weeds. I need to know how to cure and store squash- would it work for acorn and butternut? I’ve got so many right now and I’d love to get more time before I need to use them all! An extension, if you will ;). Beautiful entry as always friend- safe travels!

Sort:  

Thanks, @jaymorebeet! There are so many great edible weeds out there. For your squash, so many folks say to keep them cool and moist. I disagree. They are warm weather plants and last so much longer in warm, dry conditions. When it's still warm out at the end of summer, I set them outside in a warm, dry place to cure for a couple weeks. Then I put them in the warmest room of my house -- on the shelves of my bookcases in my office, and don't let them touch each other. Acorn squash will last for months and just turn from green to orange and get lighter as they dry out, so slowly. Butternuts will keep for almost 2 years! They are the longest keepers I have ever seen. Even Patty Pan squash will last until January, and I've got a Spaghetti Squash on my bookshelf from 2016! It's great having garden harvests that don't take any special storage processing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62663.38
ETH 2445.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67