Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02 : Carrot Lentil Thick Soup with Lemongrass and Carrot Chips

carrot 3.jpg

Hello everyone,

Thursday is here and week end is on its way! Do you have any plan for this week end? My week end will be a bit busy since my partner and I are invited to two parties and for both parties, I will have to bring birthday cakes as a surprise gift :-) I haven't had any plan yet for what will I be making. I am really a last minute person so I'll figure it out tomorrow :-D For the time being, I am focusing on Steemit Iron Chef :-)

This week's theme is carrot which is "normally" easy to work with but I dont really have an idea how to elevate this ingredient. When @progressivechef said that we have to elevate the basic ingredient, I take it seriously, it's not an easy task. I saw this competition like the French version of Objectif Top Chef with chef Philippe Etchebest (famous French chef) as the judge. I am imagining @progressivechef like him, but @progressive is way nicer :-D Both concepts look alike and it's challenging. Though I wont dare to sign up to this kind of contest in real life.

Okay, enough with my blabla, now we're heading to the most important thing, the dish. I decided to make a healthy soup of carrot and lentil perfumed with lemongrass to boost your dose of iron. This soup is perfect for dinner, it's light and super good :-) Let's check out the recipe, shall we?

carrot 2.jpg

Ingredients

For Carrot Chips

  • 1 medium carrot
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper
  • 1 tsp herbs of Provence

For Soup

  • 4 medium carrots, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 140 gr lentil
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk lemongrass, chopped
  • 750 ml water
  • 1 cube vegetable stock
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper
  • cilantro to serve
  • plain yogurt to serve

Methods

For Carrot Chips

  • Preheat oven to 220°C, line a baking tray with baking silicone mat or parchment paper, set aside.
  • Using mandolin slicer, cut the carrot into thin slices.
  • In a clean bowl, mix all ingredients and toss them to combine.
  • Transfer to baking tray and bake for about 8-10 minutes. Please watch them carefully because it's so thin it can go from crispy to burnt easily.
  • Remove from the oven leave it to cool.

For Soup

  • In a medium saucepan, heat the oil over medium heat. Stir fry garlic, onion and lemongrass for about 2 minutes.
  • Add in carrot, lentil and the cube veggie stock, pour the water. Simmer for about 12-15 minutes until the carrot and lentil are soft.
  • Add in salt and pepper.
  • Transfer into a blender and mix it until smooth. You may use hand blender if you have one.
  • Transfer into a bowl, add some yogurt on top and sprinkle with cilantro and carrot chips.

It's not too complicated right? Who doesn't want to eat this yummy carrot with such a vibrant color? It can be made last minute as it's quite easy. So there's no reason to have those instant soup :-)

carrot 5.jpg

carrot 4.jpg

I hope you guys like my post. If you do, please do not hesitate to upvote and resteem. I'll see you next week for the next round of Steemit Iron Chef :-)

Cheers,
signature-fonts

PS: All work and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with Panasonic Lumix FZ1000.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ikaputri3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Looks like a thick and filling soup! Great unique dish

It is! Thank you for passing by @jeffjagoe :-)

A lemongrass perfume on this thick soup sounds sublime..very refreshing, I love the fragrance of lemongrass =)

The carrot chips on the yogurt blogs in a small curve add a classy touch to this hearty soup..well done, dear! =D

Me too! The fragrance of lemongrass is just amazing. Thank you @foodie.warrior for dropping by! Good luck for us for this contest ;-)

This is such a lovely and super yummy entry my friend! I love how you transform the carrots, hmmm the thick soup is surely so flavorful with the lemongrass in it!
Beautiful entry again, I hope you win!
@creativewoman

Thank you so much my friend for your support! I made a good decision by adding lemongrass in the soup. As you said, it's so flavorful :-)

omg, that looks great! l love lentils... lemongrass, spices, yes !!! (-:

Yes, spices make it tastier! Thank you for reading @clumsysilverdad!

Hmmm the champ is back again with an awesome dish! This thick soup looks so yummy my friend! That lemongrass surely brings a lovely flavor to it! And what to say about crispy carrots...i think you saw how i love them!
Beautiful entry again!
@progressivechef

Yes, I saw it chef! We had the same idea for crispy carrots. As for lemongrass, it really gave a kick to the soup both flavor and fragrance. Thanks @progressivechef for this challenging theme! :-)

looks like a wonderful hearty dish for the cold winter evenings ...

Yes, it is perfect for cold weather. It's only September but it's already cold in Belgium :-D Thanks for passing by @globaldoodlegems!

Hello my friend! It looks delicious and rich, well done 👍.

Thank you so much my friend! :-) It is indeed so rich and fulfilling :-D

Upvoted:-) The photography and presentation has so much thought and love that's gone into it. I love the sound of those carrot chips

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82