Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 04 : Peking Duck a'la Lettuce

For the main dish I made a version of Peking duck, I used Confit de Canard and replaced the pancakes with lettuce leaves.
Ingredients
IMG_4966.JPG
Lettuce
confit de Canard
spring onions
carrots
cucumber
Hoi Sin sauce
this is quite simple to make
fry the duck legs on a pan
IMG_4202.JPG
cut up and lay out your veggies and salad on a serving tray
IMG_8480.JPG
I serve it as a DIY dish...
IMG_5168.JPG
I did however make a small sampler for SIC
IMG_5016.JPG
fill your lettuce with sauce, duck and veggies
IMG_7342.JPG
wrap them up ...and dig in ... it is best to eat them straight away ... the freshness and the crunch of the salad really adds to the experience and I do think I prefer the lettuce over the normally quite boring egg pancakes that normally go with the dish, and the confit ducklegs are perfect for shredding and adds a little more sass to the combination ...
IMG_3999.JPG
Don't forget your proof pic ....
here is the finished dinner table with both my lettuce based dishes
IMG_2696.JPG
there is an addition of some oven baked potato slices and a duck cream sauce I made (both addition were to make the meal more complete for my dad and my daughter, that are not so adventurous ...)
It was a real treat of a meal and a nice celebration of my dads friend coming home from the hospital , I hope you will understand that I didn't have so much time for taking a lot of pictures as I usually do ...besides both dishes were quite simple to make ... simple and delicious !
IMG_5016.JPG
Thank you to @progessivechef @steemit-ironchef and the sponsors @canadian-coconut, @donkeypong , @trophytokens , @voiceshares and @bambam808 for their support to Steemit-Ironchef

Sort:  

Nice presentation.
I am leaning toward green everyday.
I don't usually eat duck every day. I'll look into it.

Thank you so much , me neither duck every day would be too expensive here ...so it is a rare treat ...

this is a tasty dish! Looks yummy

Thank you so much, I am happy to hear that ... it was lovely and fresh !

That tasty recipe I love the duck and at least here I have not seen it, but it's worth looking for it and making a recipe with the duck, your recipe is a good option
Good night Maria

Thank you so much, I am happy to hear that ... the confit ducklegs is a french delicatesse and usually you get them in big cans or glasjars and they are pretty pricy unless you are lucke like I was and got them on a special offer ....it was cheaper when I lived in Spain though ...

Here in the USA almost everything you find online and Amazon now has an incredible food section, of course as you say is a dish to eat on special occasion and I thought I could do something for a very gourmet dinner with my husband for the Valentine's Day so I will look for the products this week.
The truth my husband deserves a delicious dinner as your recipe
Thanks Maria
Have a Happy Sunday

What a great idea replacing the pancakes with the lettuce my friend. The crispy-ness of the lettuce surely brings this dish to another level!
It has been so long that I did not have some good duck confit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66